EURO 2020

Euro 2021: when and where will the final be played?

The delayed European Championship gets underway in Rome with Italy facing Turkey as 24 sides look to be crowned the kings of Europe on 11 July.

Euro 2021: when and where will the final be played?

The 2020 UEFA European Championships kick-off on 11 June 2021, a year later than planned due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Friday's group A clash between Turkey and Italy at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome will start the ball rolling ahead of a month of top action with 24 sides looking to be crowned champions on 11 July.

For the first time ever there is no single host country, instead the tournament's 51 fixtures will be played across 11 host cities.

The other ten Euro 2020 stadiums are: St Petersburg Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia), Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark), Johan Cruijff Arena, Amsterdam (The Netherlands), National Arena, Bucharest (Romania), Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland), Estadio La Cartuja, Seville (Spain), Fußball Arena Munchen, Munich (Germany), and the Puskas Arena, Budapest (Hungary).

Henri Delaunay trophy

Pandemic impact

The competition has been impacted by the coronavirus crisis which saw UEFA delay the entire tournament through to 2021. Dublin in Ireland was set to host a series of games, but the Irish government were not confident that they could permit fans to attend (a UEFA requisite) and their games were moved to St Petersburg. A similar fate befell Bilbao with the local Basque government uncomfortable about the minimum fan requirement with games scheduled for San Mames switched to Seville.

UEFA EURO 2020 Trophy Tour Arrives In LondonLONDON, ENGLAND - JUNE 04: Mayor of London Sadiq Khan kisses the Henri Delaunay trophy at an event outside King's Cross Railway Station as the UEFA Euro 2020 trophy arrives in London 04, 2021 in London, England. The Mayor of London welcomed the Henri Delaunay trophy to the capital today, one week before UEFA EURO 2020, which was postponed from last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Final games

London's Wembley Stadium will host both semi-final matches and the grand final itself set to take place on 11 July. The action will get underway at 21:00 CEST/ 15: ET.