When are the 100m Olympic finals taking place?

In the men's 100m event, there will be no defending champion in the retired Usain Bolt and no world champion due to Christian Coleman’s suspension.

When are the 100m Olympic finals taking place?
VCG VCG via Getty Images

The 100m race is arguably the showpiece event of the Olympic Games and this year's competition is expected to be no different.

Britain's Dina Asher-Smith will be going for gold in the women's 100m event in Tokyo but needs to overcome Jamaican sensation Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce. Fraser-Pryce is a double Olympic 100m champion and is the woman to beat having recently run the second-fastest 100m ever.

Noah Lyles and Andre De Grasse are among the favourites to win gold in the men's 100m in what will be the most watched sporting event this summer, but there will be no world champion due to Christian Coleman’s suspension.

The Americans (with 17 previous winners) will again start huge favourites and could clean sweep the medals led by Trayvon Bromell.

When is the Men's 100m final race?

The men’s 100m prelims start on Friday, July 30 (20:00-23:00 ET) with the first round taking place on July 31 (06:00-08:55 ET).

The semi-finals and final get underway on Sunday, August 1 (06:00-08:55 BST) with the final due to start at 08:50 ET.

Hughes aiming for gold

Zharnel Hughes looks to be Team GB's best chance of a medal but false-started in the final at the British Championships. He is the reigning European 100m champion and also made the world final in 2019.

When is the Women's 100m final race?

The women's 100m prelims get underway on Thursday, July 29 (20:00-23:30 ET) with the first round to follow after.

The semi-final and final take place on Saturday, July 31 (06:00-08:55 ET), with the medals being decided at 08:50 ET.

Lightning Bolt

Tokyo 2020 will crown a new 100m Olympic men's champion this year after three-time winner Usain Bolt retired from the sport in 2016.

The Jamaican won gold in the 100m and 200m, completing the sprint double in three consecutive Games at Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016.