APPLE

Apple Keynote Event 2021 and iPhone 13 reveal: times and how to watch online

The tech giant's fall event is scheduled for next week and many are expecting big announcements with a potential unveiling of the new iPhone and iWatch 7.

0
Apple Keynote Event 2021 and iPhone 13 reveal: times and how to watch online

The next hotly anticipated Apple event will take place next week, giving fans an insight into the tech giant’s latest developments. The event will take place on Tuesday, 14 September at 10am (PT).

Apple tends to host three or four large-scale events like this every year, with the fall events usually the most exciting. These are typically scheduled for September or October and, in the past, have been used to reveal new iPhone and iWatch upgrades ahead of the holiday shopping season.

How to watch the Apple ‘California Streaming’ event

The virtual event is expected to see a raft of new products unveiled and the whole show will be streamed for free online. The event, christened ‘California Streaming’ by Apple, will be available to watch live on the Apple website and on the company’s YouTube channel.

It will be available to stream live around the world at the following times:

  • USA: 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT)
  • Canada: 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT), 2pm (ADT)
  • UK: 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 7pm (CEST)
  • India: 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: 15 September at 1am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST)

Typically these major events take between one and two hours, depending on the number of announcements they have to make. Given that we are expecting big news on an upcoming iPhone, it will probably be towards the top end of that estimate. Usually the whole event is made available to view on demand on YouTube after it has finished.

Will the iPhone 13 finally be unveiled?

In recent years new editions of the iPhone have been unveiled at Apple’s fall events, with the iPhone 12 range making its first appearance at the 2020 event in October, which was delayed slightly due to the pandemic.

All the rumours suggest that Apple is going to be following this pattern and the iPhone 13 will reportedly match the four tiers of the previous model: iPhone 13, iPhone 13 Pro, iPhone 13 Pro Max and iPhone 13 mini.

Engadget report that the new devices could feature an Always On display, rumours of which have been in circulation since February. Similar to the top spec phone offered by Samsung, the new iPhone could also feature a smaller notch at the top and the Pro model could soon boast a 120Hz screen.

The iPhone 13 is not expected to look notably different to its predecessor in terms of the body, but new colours may well be introduced to refresh the product line. Some reports are also suggesting a new ‘grippier’ texture for the back of the new models.