eSports

League of Legends Worlds 2021 knockout stage: schedule, games, bracket, dates, times

The world's biggest eSport is coming up to the knockout stages on Friday.Find out when your team is playing.

0
League of Legends Worlds 2021 knockout stage: schedule, games, bracket, dates, times
Riot Games

League of Legends, one of the world's largest competitive video games, is enjoying its latest edition of the Worlds this month. Running from October 5 to November 6, it is seeing the world's best teams go head-to-head in Reykjavík, Iceland. The group stage is over and the knockout games begin in haste, with matches resuming on Friday, October 22.

At stake is a share of $2,225,000, with the champions claiming 22 percent of this, second place claiming 15 percent with the rest divided between the other teams.

When are matches being played?

The Knockout Stage is scheduled as follows:

Quarterfinals

  • Hanwha Life Esports vs T1 on October 22 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST
  • Royal Never Give Up vs Edward Gaming on October 23 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST
  • Damwon Gaming KIA vs MAD Lions on October 24 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST
  • Gen.G vs Cloud9 on October 25 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST

Semifinals

  • TBD vs TBD on October 30 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST
  • TBD vs TBD on October 31 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST

Grand final

  • TBD vs TBD on November 6 at 12 p.m. GMT | 8 p.m. GMT+8 | 5 a.m. PST

How can the matches be watched?

All Worlds matches will be live on Riot Games, the publishers of League of Legends, official Twitch and YouTube channels.

What is League of Legends?

Commonly referred to as 'LoL', League has over 100 million active players a month. Two teams of five players fight in lanes where they must defeat other players and destroy enemy bases and objectives.

Its significant reach is due to it having huge popularity in Asia; the last eight winners of the Worlds hail from the continent. The last winners, Damwon Gaming, are from South Korea. They are favorites to win again in 2021.