What's the USA Team for 2021 Davis Cup?

Team USA take to the hard court for the Davis Cup Finals in Turin, Italy, hoping to knock off Spain and bring home tennis’ top prize once again

What's the USA Team for 2021 Davis Cup?

Billed as The World Cup of Tennis, the 2021 Davis Cup begins with last year’s champion Spain looking to hold on to the crown. The cities of Madrid, Spain, Innsbruck, Austria and Turin, Italy are hosting the 18 teams, all of whom are vying to knock Spain from their perch.

The maiden use of a multi-site format sees each venue hosting two of the six groups. The winners of those groups, along with the two second-placed teams with the best records, will qualify for the quarter-finals. Innsbruck and Turin will host one each, while the Spanish capital will stage two quarter-finals, both semi-finals, and the final on December 5th. The lockdown in Austria, which begins next Monday, means that all matches in Innsbruck will be played without crowds behind closed doors.

In 2022, the Davis Cup Finals will revert to the old 16-team format, with both of this year’s finalists qualifying automatically for the Finals in 2022.

Madrid Arena, Madrid, Spain

  • Group A: Spain, Russia Tennis Federation, Ecuador

  • Group B: Canada, Kazakhstan, Sweden

Olympia-Halle, Innsbruck, Austria

  • Group C: France, Great Britain, Czech Republic

  • Group F: Serbia, Germany, Austria

Pala Alpitour Arena, Turin, Italy

  • Group D: Croatia, Australia, Hungary

  • Group E: USA, Italy, Colombia

The United States are the most successful team in the tournament, with 32 titles so far, but are currently riding a 14 year drought. Team USA will play their all of their group stage matches in Turin, Italy. If they win the group, they will meet the winner of Group D, which consists of Croatia, Australia, and Hungary, in the quarter-finals.

The USTA will send veteran John Isner, currently ranked 26 in the ATP rankings, number 30 ranked Taylor Fritz, and number 27 ranked Reilly Opelka, along with doubles experts Jack Sock and Rajeev Ram, ranked numbers 2 and 4 respectively. Mardy Fish will return as the team captain.