NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many times have the Los Angeles Rams reached the NFC NFL Conference Finals?

The Los Angeles Rams will face the team with the most Conference Finals in history on Sunday, but they are no stranger to the Championships either.

TAMPA, FLORIDA - JANUARY 23: Matt Gay #8 of the Los Angeles Rams kicks the game-winning field goal in the last second against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the NFC Divisional Playoff game at Raymond James Stadium on January 23, 2022 in Tampa, Florida.   Kev
Kevin C. CoxAFP

The Los Angeles Rams will go up against the San Francisco 49ers on Sunday in the NFC Conference Finals. San Francisco has the most number of appearances in the Conference Championships at 17, but Los Angeles has had its fair share of these games as well.

The Rams have landed a seat at the Conference Finals 11 times. They won four times and are gunning for the fifth on Sunday.

Early losing run

They reached the finals three years in a row from 1974, but lost all three times. First to the Minnesota Vikings, then the Dallas Cowboys, then the Vikings again.

They went up and lost against the Cowboys again in 1978. They bounced back the next year and won their first NFC Championship against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

They then lost their next two outings-in 1985 against the Chicago Bears, and in 1989 against the 49ers. They had more luck when the franchise moved to Missouri, and won two Championships as the St. Louis Rams in 1999 and 2001.

The team had already moved back to Los Angeles when they clinched their fourth championship in 2018.

Other NFL stories:

Rams favored to win

The Rams have taken a beating at the hands of the 49ers in recent times, losing to them in their last six matchups including two this season. Los Angeles last tasted victory against San Francisco in 2018.

Despite this, the Rams are favored by the bookmakers to become the NFC Champions, mostly because of quarterback Matthew Stafford’s outstanding postseason performance.

The NFC Championship will kick off on Sunday, January 30 at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. ET. US viewers can watch the match on the FOX TV channel.

You can also catch the action on AS USA’s live text coverage and commentary.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?