Gaming Club
Sign in to comment

Templars and Assassins

Which is the chronological order to play Assassin's Creed franchise?

We put in order all the games of the Assassin's Creed saga according to their historical setting, the chronology of their history and their release date.

Which is the chronological order to play Assassin's Creed franchise?

Eivor travels to England in search of a new home. Assassin's Creed Valhalla, the most recent production in the saga, plunges us into a Viking fantasy full of intrigue and internecine wars. The story takes place during the ninth century AD, which means that centuries have passed since the events narrated in Origins and Odyssey. Ubisoft Montreal designs an installment that maintains the base of the two previous ones, so that the RPG structure prevails. With so many titles behind it, one might wonder in what order to approach the saga. There is no single answer, so we offer several alternatives.

We separate the main installments from the secondary ones, since over the years Ubisoft has produced titles for all types of platforms. In fact, some of the stories follow the official chronology, such as Assassin's Creed III: Liberation or Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines, which do not fail to provide more context about the era or the characters. We leave out, of course, the various expansions and DLC linked to the main chapters in order not to make the list even more confusing. Let's start with the order according to the release date:

Assassin's Creed main titles

  1. Assassin's Creed (2007)
  2. Assassin's Creed II (2009)
  3. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood (2010)
  4. Assassin's Creed: Revelations (2011)
  5. Assassin's Creed III (2012)
  6. Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (2013)
  7. Assassin's Creed Rogue (2014)
  8. Assassin's Creed Unity (2014)
  9. Assassin's Creed Syndicate (2015)
  10. Assassin's Creed Origins (2017)
  11. Assassin's Creed Odyssey (2018)
  12. Assassin's Creed Valhalla (2020)

Assassin's Creed secondary releases

  1. Assassin's Creed: Altair Chronicles (2008, Nintendo DS)
  2. Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines (2009, PSP)
  3. Assassin's Creed II: Discovery (2009, Nintendo DS)
  4. Assassin's Creed Multiplayer Rearmed (2011, iOS)
  5. Assassin's Creed Recollection (2012, iOS)
  6. Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (2012, PS Vita)
  7. Assassin's Creed: Pirates (2013, Android and iOS)
  8. Assassin's Creed Memories (2014, iOS)
  9. Assassin's Creed Chronicles (2016, digital platforms)
  10. Assassin's Creed Identity (2016, Android and iOS)
  11. Assassin's Creed Rebellion (2018, Android and iOS)
Full screen

Now let's go with a second way of approaching the series: how it would be if we put the story in order. One of the advantages of this method is that it allows us to start playing the latest titles in the series: Assassin's Creed Origins and Assassin's Creed Odyssey, which serve as a prequel and are two of its best installments. It is better to start with them so that if in the end we get sick and give up, at least we have tasted its best fruits. In this list, we have included some complementary movies that Ubisoft made back in the day. They are completely free, improve the experience and complete even more the plot.

Another possibility is to try to reconstruct the chronology by playing the titles according to the historical period in which they took place. The problem is that doing it chronologically produces dissonance between the parts of the past and the present. Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and Assassin's Creed Rogue take place before Assassin's Creed III, but portions of the past are not properly understood if you don't follow the order according to the official release.

How to play Assassin's Creed in order?

Here is a list of all the Assassin's Creed titles to play the entire saga following the order of the story of the video game itself:

Full screen
  1. Assassin's Creed Odyssey (2018)
  2. Assassin's Creed Origins (2017)
  3. Assassin's Creed Valhalla (2020)
  4. Assassin's Creed (2007)
  5. Assassin's Creed Lineage (Free Medium-length film)
  6. Assassin's Creed II (2009)
  7. Assassin's Creed: Ascendance (Free short film)
  8. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood (2010)
  9. Assassin's Creed: Revelations (2011)
  10. Assassin's Creed: Embers (Free Medium-length film)
  11. Assassin's Creed Chronicles (2016)
  12. Assassin's Creed III (2012)
  13. Assassin's Creed III: Liberation (2012)
  14. Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (2013)
  15. Assassin's Creed Rogue (2014)
  16. Assassin's Creed Unity (2014)
  17. Assassin's Creed Syndicate (2015)

If the only thing that matters to you is the period and not so much the internal coherence with respect to the stories of the present, you may prefer to face the adventures in chronological order according to the period in question. That is why we also leave you the last list in that direction.

Assassin's Creed by historical setting

In the following list you will find all the titles of the saga ordered by game's own historical moment and location to follow an alternative order when playing all the titles up to the present time:

  1. Assassin's Creed Odyssey (Greece. 431 a.C.)
  2. Assassin's Creed Origins (Ptolemaic Egypt. 48-38 a.C.)
  3. Assassin's Creed (Holy Land: Jerusalem, Damascus... 1191-1193)
  4. Assassin's Creed II (Italian Renaissance. 1476-1500)
  5. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood (Rome. 1500-1507)
  6. Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Constantinople. 1510-1524)
  7. Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag (Golden age of piracy. 1715-1722)
  8. Assassin's Creed Rogue (The Seven Years' War. 1752-1763)
  9. Assassin's Creed III (American Revolution. 1754-1783)
  10. Assassin's Creed Unity (French Revolution. 1776–1794)
  11. Assassin's Creed Syndicate (Industrial revolution. 1868)

Ubisoft confirmed months ago that they are working on Assassin's Creed Infinity, a title that will integrate different stories as a platform. There is still a lot to know, but they have already stated that it will not work under a free-to-play model.