NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who are the MLB World Series winners by year?

The World Series will be contested for the 118th time as the Houston Astros take on the Philadelphia Phillies for MLB supremacy. We look back at all past champions

The World Series will be contested for the 118th time as the Houston Astros take on the Philadelphia Phillies for MLB supremacy. We look back at all past champions
Charles M Conlon

The World Series as a modern concept began in 1903, when the season winner of the newly formed American League challenged the season winner of the National League to a series for overall supremacy. Not played the following year, it was revived in 1905 and the game has been played annually ever since, excepting the 1994 strike-shortened season.

There had been championship series prior to 1903, of course, and they were often referred to as “The Championship of the United States”, “World’s Championship Series”, or “World’s Series” for short, but they were sporadic and disorganized, with the number of games played ranged from as few as three to as many as fifteen. Two of the 19th century series actually ended in ties!

Once the National Association became the National League and the old American Association folded, there was no need for a championship series, the team with the most wins during the regular season was simply crowned champion.

The American League formed in 1901 and the two leagues refused to play each other that year, opting in 1902 to play a football match between the two teams to determine a champion. Finally, with the obvious staring them in the face, they put aside their differences and began playing a baseball series the following year.

After the scandalous accusations that the 1919 Series had been thrown by the Chicago White Sox, the office of the commissioner was created, along with broad powers. Eight of the players, including Buck Weaver who everyone agreed took no part in the scandal, were banned for life, a ban that still resonates in the baseball world.

The original format of having each league represented by the team with the best record continued until 1969, when the post season was expanded to include four divisions. 1994 saw a restructure into three divisions, leading to the creation of a third champion and a Wild Card slot.

World Series winners by year

1903 Boston Americans

1904 No World Series

1905 New York Giants

1906 Chicago White Sox

1907 Chicago Cubs

1908 Chicago Cubs

1909 Pittsburgh Pirates

1910 Philadelphia Athletics

1911 Philadelphia Athletics

1912 Boston Red Sox

1913 Philadelphia Athletics

1914 Boston Braves

1915 Boston Red Sox

1916 Boston Red Sox

1917 Chicago White Sox

1918 Boston Red Sox

1919 Cincinnati Reds

1920 Cleveland Indians

1921 New York Giants

1922 New York Giants

1923 New York Yankees

1924 Washington Senators

1925 Pittsburgh Pirates

1926 St. Louis Cardinals

1927 New York Yankees

1928 New York Yankees

1929 Philadelphia Athletics

1930 Philadelphia Athletics

1931 St. Louis Cardinals

1932 New York Yankees

1933 New York Giants

1934 St. Louis Cardinals

1935 Detroit Tigers

1936 New York Yankees

1937 New York Yankees

1938 New York Yankees

1939 New York Yankees

1940 Cincinnati Reds

1941 New York Yankees

1942 St. Louis Cardinals

1943 New York Yankees

1944 St. Louis Cardinals

1945 Detroit Tigers

1946 St. Louis Cardinals

1947 New York Yankees

1948 Cleveland Indians

1949 New York Yankees

1950 New York Yankees

1951 New York Yankees

1952 New York Yankees

1953 New York Yankees

1954 New York Giants

1955 Brooklyn Dodgers

1956 New York Yankees

1957 Milwaukee Braves

1958 New York Yankees

1959 Los Angeles Dodgers

1960 Pittsburgh Pirates

1961 New York Yankees

1962 New York Yankees

1963 Los Angeles Dodgers

1964 St. Louis Cardinals

1965 Los Angeles Dodgers

1966 Baltimore Orioles

1967 St. Louis Cardinals

1968 Detroit Tigers

1969 New York Mets

1970 Baltimore Orioles

1971 Pittsburgh Pirates

1972 Oakland Athletics

1973 Oakland Athletics

1974 Oakland Athletics

1975 Cincinnati Reds

1976 Cincinnati Reds

1977 New York Yankees

1978 New York Yankees

1979 Pittsburgh Pirates

1980 Philadelphia Phillies

1981 Los Angeles Dodgers

1982 St. Louis Cardinals

1983 Baltimore Orioles

1984 Detroit Tigers

1985 Kansas City Royals

1986 New York Mets

1987 Minnesota Twins

1988 Los Angeles Dodgers

1989 Oakland Athletics

1990 Cincinnati Reds

1991 Minnesota Twins

1992 Toronto Blue Jays

1993 Toronto Blue Jays

1994 No World Series due to a players’ strike

1995 Atlanta Braves

1996 New York Yankees

1997 Florida Marlins

1998 New York Yankees

1999 New York Yankees

2000 New York Yankees

2001 Arizona Diamondbacks

2002 Anaheim Angels

2003 Florida Marlins

2004 Boston Red Sox

2005 Chicago White Sox

2006 St. Louis Cardinals

2007 Boston Red Sox

2008 Philadelphia Phillies

2009 New York Yankees

2010 San Francisco Giants

2011 St. Louis Cardinals

2012 San Francisco Giants

2013 Boston Red Sox

2014 San Francisco Giants

2015 Kansas City Royals

2016 Chicago Cubs

2017 Houston Astros

2018 Boston Red Sox

2019 Washington Nationals

2020 Los Angeles Dodgers

2021 Atlanta Braves


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?