What did Draymond Green say about the Sabonis chest stomp?
Warriors player Draymond Green says he landed on Kings player Domantas Sabonis’ chest as a result of him grabbing his ankle during Game 2 of the playoffs.
In the fourth quarter of the Golden State Warriors Game 2 loss to the Sacramento Kings, Draymond Green was ejected from the game for stomping on Kings’ Domantas Sabonis’ chest.
Of course, that wasn’t the whole story. Before the stomping, Sabonis was on the floor and he grabbed Green’s ankle. Green then kind of hobbled and then stomped on Sabonis’ chest. Now, the refs did not seem to think that was any accident. They did give Sabonis a technical foul for grabbing Green’s ankle. But Green received a flagrant-2 foul and was ejected from the game.
“I’m not the most flexible”
During the post game press conference, a reporter asked Green what happened and he said, “My leg got grabbed. Second time in two nights. Referees just watching.”
Obviously, the referees were not just watching. They also gave Sabonis a technical. But was the stomping on Sabonis’ chest just a result of that leg grab?
“I gotta land my foot somewhere. And I’m not the most flexible person, so it’s not stretching that far,” said Green. “I can only step so far. He was pulling my leg away. It is what it is.”
Green was asked what the referees said about the stomp and why it warranted a flagrant-2 foul and Green said they told him he “stomped too hard”. After the play, the Sacramento crowd was riled up and booing Green, which just prompted him to wave his hands and egg them on.
“I was just having fun,” said Green. “It’s a fun game, fun atmosphere to play in. So it’s just fun.”
The Warriors and Kings will play Game 3 in Golden State’s territory at Chase Center on Thursday night.