NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which teams have played the most NBA Finals and won the most championships?

The 2022 Finals are between the Golden State Warriors and the Boston Celtics but do you know who has the most NBA championships in history?

Larry O'Brien Trophy
Ezra Shaw

Last year, the Milwaukee Bucks took home the title for the first time since 1971, preventing the Phoenix Suns from winning their first ever NBA championship. This time around we have the Golden State Warriors pitting themselves against the joint-most successful team in the competition’s history.

Celtics and Lakers: the most NBA championships

The Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics are tied for the most NBA championship titles in NBA history with 17 championships each. Some would argue the Boston Celtics take home the title for the most NBA championships seeing as the Los Angeles Lakers were once the Minnesota Lakers.

The Lakers became the Los Angeles Lakers in 1960, making history by becoming the first NBA team on the west coast. Prior to becoming the Los Angeles Lakers, the Lakers won five NBA titles in Minnesota, the “land of 10,000 lakes.”

Although the Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics come with a ton of fans, notoriety, and talent, they are not the top two franchises when it comes to money and valuations. As of this year, they are beat out by the New York Knicks, worth $5 billion, and the Golden State Warriors, worth $4.7 billion according to Forbes.

Which years did the LA/Minneapolis Lakers win the NBA championship?

  • 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, 2020
  • Total wins: 17
  • Total championship appearances: 32

Which years did the Boston Celtics win the NBA championship?

  • 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008
  • Total wins: 17
  • Total championship appearances: 21

Fun fact: The Boston Celtics won nine championships in a row. 1956-1969 is known as the Bill Russell Era, as Russell played a large factor in that winning streak. He was a part of the Boston Celtics for all 11 NBA championships won across 13 years. Russell is therefore the most decorated player in the NBA.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?