NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which NFL teams have never won a Super Bowl?

We have made it to the 57th Super Bowl, but more than a third of the league has never won the trophy. Discover the teams that are yet to win a title.

We have made it to the 57th Super Bowl, but more than a third of the league has never won the trophy. Discover the teams that are yet to win a title.

Follow the Super Bowl LVII between the Chiefs and the Eagles LIVE on

The Kansas City Chiefs will take on the Philadelphia Eagles at the State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona for Super Bowl LVII. Both teams are no strangers to winning the Lombardi trophy: the Chiefs will be gunning for their third championship, while the Eagles are aiming to win their second.

Not all NFL franchises have been so fortunate. Twelve teams have never won the title and four teams have yet to even reach the Super Bowl.

In contrast, several teams have won multiple Super Bowls, with the New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers leading the way with six wins each in the big game.

Which NFL teams have never won a Super Bowl?

Houston Texans

Houston, the youngest franchise in the NFL, was only founded and entered the league for the first time in 2002. They have not had a single Super Bowl appearance. With their second-worst 3-13-1 record this season, it doesn’t look like they will get to make one anytime soon.

Detroit Lions

The Lions are still in the midst of a rebuild, as Dan Campbell looks to change the culture of a team that have never appeared in a Super Bowl and the only franchise from the NFC to have never played for the trophy.

Carolina Panthers

The Carolina Panthers are 0-2 all-time in Super Bowl appearances, and their future prospects of getting another go at the trophy are not looking bright. They traded away their best player in running back Christian McCaffrey, and were eliminated from playoff contention this season.

Atlanta Falcons

The Falcons have played in the Super Bowl two times, in 1998 and 2016, with no success. Their 7-10 record this season landed them at the bottom of the NFC South division and booted them out of the playoffs.

Cincinnati Bengals

Quarterback Joe Burrow almost led the Bengals to their first Super Bowl victory last year, but the team fell to the Los Angeles Rams in their third shot at the championship. The team was beaten in both of the franchise’s first two Super Bowl appearances by the San Francisco 49ers during the 1980s.

Jacksonville Jaguars

After being the worst team in the league for the past two years, the Jaguars made the playoffs this season with the help of young quarterback Trevor Lawrence. The team has never made it to the Super Bowl, and it will be exciting to see if their recent rise will continue and bring them all the way to the final game.

Los Angeles Chargers

The Chargers got the last of the three talented quarterbacks from the 2020 draft class, and possibly the best in Justin Herbert. He led the team to a berth in the playoffs, but blew a 27-point-lead to be eliminated by the Jaguars.

The Chargers have an AFL Championship title to their name going back to 1963. Based in San Diego from 1961 to 2016, the franchise came closest to Super Bowl glory in the 1994 season.

Minnesota Vikings

The Vikings have a storied playoff history that has not been storied enough to include a Super Bowl win. They’ve had four stabs at the championship but fell each time.

The team won the NFL Championship in 1969. However, this is part of a four-year overlap where the NFL and AFL Championship winners met in the Super Bowl at the end of the season. Whereas after the 1969 season, the two leagues merged into the NFL as we know it now.

Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals have reached the final game of the season just once since winning the 1947 NFL Championship 73 seasons ago. They appeared in the Super Bowl in 2008. They are the oldest franchise that has not yet won the championship.

Tennessee Titans

The Titans have been making changes in their coaching staff after they were eliminated from the playoffs this season.

The team lost the AFL Championship Games in 1962 and 1967, as well as their first and only chance so far to win the Super Bowl in 1999.


Cleveland Browns

Cleveland hasn’t been in a position to win a Super Bowl since Bernie Kosar led the franchise to consecutive AFC Championship Game appearances in the mid-1980s.

The team, which lost the NFL Championship in 1969, was inactive for three seasons in the mid-1990s when the original franchise relocated to Baltimore to become the Ravens.

Buffalo Bills

The Bills were touted to be the favorites to win the league championship game this season, thanks to the quality of Josh Allen, considered one of the game’s best quarterbacks. However, after sitting at the top of the AFC East with a 13-3 record, they were defeated for the second consecutive season at the AFC Divisional round.

The Bills are the only team that have ever reached the Super Bowl four consecutive seasons in a row, which makes their lack of success even more heartbreaking.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?