Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Nineteen of 32 participants at new 2025 FIFA Club World Cup confirmed

FIFA’s revamped and renamed Mundial de Clubes FIFA is planned for 2025 and will feature 32 teams with games to be played from 15 June to July 13.

El City espera no extrañar a Haaland
Michael Regan - FIFAFIFA via Getty Images

With the 2023 Club World Cup still ongoing in Jeddah (Saudi Arabia), FIFA have confirmed that this edition will be the last in the current seven team format with the competition set to undergo a seismic expansion.

FIFA Club World Cup 2023 semi final match between Urawa Reds and Manchester City
Full screen
FIFA Club World Cup 2023 semi final match between Urawa Reds and Manchester CityALI HAIDEREFE

Soccer’s global governing body have confirmed that the first edition of the newly revamped Club World Cup will be staged in the United States in 2025 and is set to feature 32 teams with matches set to be played between 15 June and 13 July.

The new competition’s official name will be Mundial de Clubes FIFA and will feature clubs from each of the six confederations and will include a combination of each confederation’s club champions from the previous four seasons as well as teams that rank the highest in their continental rankings.

2025 Mundial de Clubes FIFA: format

The tournament will feature an opening stage composed of eight groups of four teams per group playing in a single-game round-robin format with the top two teams per group progressing to the round of 16.

There will then be a direct single-match knockout stage from the round of 16 to the final and the unpopular third/fourth place play-off game hae been done away with.

FIFA will use the competition and the 2024 Copa America as testing grounds ahead of the 2026 expanded 48-team World Cup which is set to be staged in Mexico, Canada and the US.

2025 Mundial de Clubes FIFA: already qualified

Al Ahly (Egypt): 2020-21 & 2022-23 CAF Champions League
Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia): 2021 AFC Champions League
Auckland City (New Zealand) : Ranking pathway (Oceania)
CF Monterrey (Mexico): 2021 Concacaf Champions Cup
Chelsea (England): 2020-21 UEFA Champions League
Club León (Mexico): 2023 Concacaf Champions Cup
Bayern Munich (Germany): Ranking pathway (UEFA)
FC Porto (Portugal): Ranking pathway (UEFA)
Flamengo (Brazil): 2022 Copa Libertadores
Fluminense (Brazil): 2023 Copa Libertadores
Inter Milan (Italy): Ranking pathway (UEFA)
Manchester City (England): 2022-23 UEFA Champions League
Palmeiras (Brazil): 2021 Copa Libertadores
Paris Saint-Germain (France): Ranking pathway (UEFA)
Real Madrid (Spain): 2021-22 UEFA Champions League
Seattle Sounders (USA): 2022 Concacaf Champions Cup
Benfica (Portugal): Ranking pathway (UEFA)
Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan): 2022 AFC Champions League
Wydad Casablanca (Morocco): 2021-22 CAF Champions League