Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


US and Mexico to bid for 2027 Women’s World Cup

US and Mexico are set to submit a bid to co-host the 2027 Women’s World Cup.

United States forward Alex Morgan (C) raises the SheBelieves Cup trophy as the United States Women�s National Soccer Team celebrates following the 2023 SheBelieves Cup soccer match between the United States and Brazil at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, on February 22, 2023. (Photo by Patrick T. Fallon / AFP)

The United States and Mexico have informed FIFA they will bid to co-host the 2027 Women’s World Cup, the countries’ federations said on Wednesday.

US Soccer (USSF) and Mexico’s football federation (FMF) have one month before a 19 May deadline set by FIFA for interested host nations to submit bids.

The United States has hosted the Women’s World Cup in 1999 and in 2003. Mexico has not hosted the tournament before.

Developing women’s soccer across the region

“Hosting the 2027 Women’s World Cup provides us an incredible opportunity to cap off two historic years of World Cup soccer in the Concacaf region, helping us continue to grow the game among our confederation associations,” US Soccer president Cindy Parlow Cone said in a statement.

“A record six teams from Concacaf will play in the Women’s World Cup this summer, and the United States and Mexico want to continue to push the envelope for the development of women’s soccer across the entire region.”

FMF President Yon De Luisa added: “Women’s football in Mexico has experienced sustained growth over the last five years and its development, both on and off the field, coupled with the female empowerment it has achieved and will continue to achieve, is one of the strategic priorities of the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF).

“It is with pleasure that we are teaming up again with the US Soccer Federation in the pursuit of this World Cup for our region, which will undoubtedly be historic.”

Australia and New Zealand to co-host 2023 World Cup

Australia and New Zealand will co-host the 2023 edition of the tournament this summer.

Mexico, the US and Canada will co-host the men’s World Cup in 2026.