Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What do the winners of the Nations League finals get? How much prize money?

Croatia are to meet one of Spain or Italy in the 2022/23 UEFA Nations League final this weekend, with the winners succeeding France as tournament champions.

Croacia vs España: Horario, canal de TV; cómo y dónde ver en Estados Unidos

The 2022/23 UEFA Nations League reaches its conclusion on Sunday 18 June, when Rotterdam’s De Kuip stadium hosts the trophy decider between Croatia and one of Spain and Italy.

Croatia beat hosts the Netherlands in the Nations League finals’ opening last-four clash on Wednesday, Bruno Petkovic and Luka Modric scoring extra-time goals as Zlatko Dalic’s men earned a thrilling victory over the Dutch in Rotterdam. On Thursday, the Spaniards and the Italians will face off in Enschede for the right to face the Croats in the final.

The four finalists qualified for the Nations League’s knockout phase after winning their regular-season groups in League A, the highest of the competition’s four tiers. France are the reigning champions, but failed to reach the finals after a disappointing league phase.

How much prize money is at stake in the Nations League?

First of all, it should be noted that every Nations League team, throughout the tournament’s divisions, receives a payment for participating. In League A, the amount is €1,500,000; in League B, €1,000,000; in League C, €750,000; and in League D, €500,000.

In addition, the winners of each group receive an extra amount that, again, varies depending on which league they’re in. It ranges from €750,000 to €250,000, and represents a 50% increase on the group-win bonuses paid out in the previous edition of the Nations League, UEFA says.

Whoever comes out on top in Sunday’s final will become the Nations League’s third ever champions - Portugal were the inaugural winners in 2019 - and will be paid prize money of €10.5 million. Meanwhile, the runners-up will pocket €9 million, while the third and fourth-placed finishers will take home €8m and €7m, respectively.

The Nations League finals’ third-place playoff is to be held in Enschede on Sunday at 9am ET, ahead of the final later the same day (2:45pm ET).

France won the 2020/21 Nations League.
Full screen
France won the 2020/21 Nations League.FRANCK FIFEAFP

What is the sporting prize in the UEFA Nations League?

In addition to a financial prize, the team that manages to win the trophy will also receive a sporting reward: the 2022/23 Nations League champions will be given privileged status in qualifying for the 2026 World Cup. They will be drawn into a group of five teams, instead of the usual six.