Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who are the nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023?

Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé are on the shortlist for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023.

Premio The Best otorgado por la FIFA.
Getty Images

First introduced in 2017 with the aim of reviving the FIFA World Player Gala, which soccer’s governing body created as competition for the Ballon d’Or after the 1990 World Cup but discontinued in 2009, the 2024 event will be the eighth edition of The Best Fifa Football Award ceremony and will see some star names – both old and new – rewarded for their fine displays in the calendar year of 2023. That’s in contrast to the Ballon d’Or, which focuses on player performances between August and May (a European winter season).

When will The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 take place?

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 will take place on 15 January 2024, in London (United Kingdom).

Who are the nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023?

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Three leading strikers are in contention for the award with current holder Lionel Messi still turning heads despite a move to MLS side Inter Miami. A treble for Manchester City sees Erling Haaland as leading favourite to scoop the award with Mbappe set to provide stern opposition.

Erling Haaland (Norway /Man City)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain)

 Manchester City's Erling Braut Haaland scores
Full screen
Manchester City's Erling Braut Haaland scores DYLAN MARTINEZREUTERS

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Following their win at the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia-New Zealand, Spain have two nominations on the short-list in the shape of Aitana Bonmati and Jenni Hermoso. The duo are joined by Colombian talent Linda Caicedo who completes the three-player short-list.

Aitana Bonmati (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Linda Caicedo (Colombia / Real Madrid)

Jenni Hermoso (Spain / Pachuca-Tigres)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Pep Guardiola is firmly tipped to take the prize for Men’s coach after he oversaw an historic treble for his Manchester City side as they scooped the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League. Serie A duo Inzaghi and Spalletti complete the short-list.

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Simone Inzaghi (Inter)

Luciano Spalletti (Napoli-Italy)

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola
Full screen
Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola LEE SMITHAction Images via Reuters

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

The award for best Women’s coach will be interesting with all three shortlisted names worthy of the award. Giraldez oversaw FC Barcelona’s Champions League and is poised to move to the NWSL. Wiegman oversaw England’s journey to the 2023 World Cup final, falling short to Spain at the final hurdle and Hayes secured another domestic league win for Chelsea and sealed a move Stateside as new USWNT head coach.

Jonatan Giraldez (FC Barcelona)

Emma Hayes (Chelsea)

Sarina Wiegman (England national team)

Así es la carrera de la nueva entrenadora del USWNT Emma Hayes: equipos, récord, títulos...
Full screen

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper:

Despite being out of action this season, Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois has been outstanding between the sticks for Los Blancos as has been Bounou for Morocco, Sevilla and now Al Hilal but the favourite surely has to be Ederson for his role in securing City’s treble.

Yassine Bounou (Morocco / Sevilla-Al Hilal)

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid)

Ederson (Brazil / Man City)

Ederson of Manchester City
Full screen
Ederson of Manchester City Michael ReganDiarioAS

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper:

Again, another tough one to call, but possibly the World Cup win and Champions League triumph with FC Barcelona Femeni will be key factors in seeing Coll edge out both Earps and Arnold.

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia / West Ham)

Catalina Coll (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Mary Earps (England / Man United)

The FIFA Puskás Award (for best goal):

How were the nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 selected?

Nominees for The Best players’, goalkeepers’ and coaches’ awards were chosen by two expert panelsone of men’s soccer and another for women’s soccer.

Who votes in The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023?

Media representatives, national team coaches, national team captains and the general public can all vote in each of the The Best FIFA Football Awards categories.