NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Women’s Ballon d’Or 2022: full list of candidates and nominees for the France Football award

The 2022 Ballon d’Or award ceremony takes place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on Monday (17 October) with an 8:30 pm CEST (2:30 pm ET) start.

Soccer Football - The Ballon d'Or Awards - Theatre du Chatelet, Paris, France - November 29, 2021 FC Barcelona's Alexia Putellas with the women's Ballon d'Or award REUTERS/Benoit Tessier

The 66th Ballon d’Or award ceremony on Monday night will see the awarding of seven prestigious awards with both men’s and women’s players of the years to be recognised along with the Kopa Trophy (for the best performing player under the age of 21) and the Yashin Trophy (for the best goalkeeper). The newly named Muller Award (after legendary German striker Gerd Muller) will also be confirmed for the best striker, along with the Socrates Award marking the best social initiatives within the game along with the club of the year prize.

Follow Ballon d’Or 2022: live

The red carpet will be full of the biggest names in global football in Paris as the 2022 Ballon d’Or award winners will be announced with this year seeing a modification in the criteria with organisers France Football confirming that the player performances from the season and not the calendar year would be taken into account.

Full screen

Arsenal’s Beth Mead, Sam Kerr (Chelsea) and FC Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas are cited by many observers as favourites to pick up the individual award.

Women’s Ballon d’Or: shortlist

  • Selma Bacha (Lyon)
  • Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)
  • Millie Bright (Chelsea)
  • Lucy Bronze (Barcelona)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (PSG)
  • Christiane Endler (Lyon)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)
  • Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
  • Catarina Macario (Lyon)
  • Beth Mead (Arsenal)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
  • Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
  • Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon)
  • Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)
  • Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)