Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Denmark beat Indonesia to claim first Thomas Cup

The Danes ran out 3-2 winners in the final, becoming the first European nation to win the biennial men's badminton team championship.

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus of Denmark holds the trophy.

Denmark became the first European country to lift the Thomas Cup on Sunday, winning the final 3-2 against Indonesia, the most successful nation in the history of the biennial men's badminton team championship.

Indonesia clinched both doubles matches but Viktor Axelsen, Jan Jorgensen and Hans-Kristian Vittinghus won their singles contests to power Denmark to an emotional triumph against the 13-times champions.

Vittinghus sealed the landmark victory with a smash down-the-line, triggering wild celebrations in the Denmark camp at the Kunshan Sports Centre in China's Jiangsu province.

The 30-year-old looked dazed after his 21-15 21-7 win over Ihsan Maulana Mustofa as team mates, many in tears, mobbed him before forming a celebratory huddle.

Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen.
Full screen
Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen.JOHANNES EISELEAFP

Axelsen gave Denmark a perfect start when he outplayed Tommy Sugiarto 21-17 21-18 in less than an hour. After conceding the first game, Sugiarto put up a better display in the second and led 18-15 before reeling off six points in a row to put Denmark ahead.

Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan won the first doubles against Mads Pieler Kolding and Mads Conrad Petersen 21-18 21-13 to draw level before Jorgensen put Denmark ahead again.

The 28-year-old, who missed the semi-final against Malaysia with a hip injury, beat Anthony Ginting 21-17 21-12, celebrating his victory by baring his tattooed torso and throwing his shirt, wristbands and racquet to the crowd.

Indonesia flexed their doubles muscle again through Angga Pratama and Ricky Karanda Suwardi to level the contest but Vittinghus remained calm in the final singles to clinch it for Denmark.