Bale wins Best Player prize, but not picked by fans or teammates

Gareth Bale was chosen as the Football Association of Wales' Best Player for the sixth time in seven years on Tuesday, but missed out on prizes chosen by fans and his Welsh teammates.


Gareth Bale was named Wales’ Player of the Year for the sixth time in seven years by the Football Association of Wales (FAW) on Tuesday night.

Allen recieves fans' and players' prize 

However, the Real Madrid man missed out on some of the other big awards on offer at the ceremony in Cardiff. Midfielder Joe Allen, who signed for Premier League side Stoke City from Liverpool for 10 million pounds during the summer won both Fans’ Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year.

Awards for Ramsey, Gunter & Robson-Kanu 

Allen was a star performer in Wales’ surprise run to the Euro 2016 semi-final in July (he was named in the official team of the tournament alongside Welsh centre-midfield partner and Arsenal star Aaron Ramsey). Ramsey was also honoured on Tuesday with the FAW Player of 2016 Euro award.

  • Charlton
  • Midfielder
  • Gales

Other big winners on the night included Reading’s Chris Gunter, who was given the Journalist’s Player of the Year prize, and West Brom's Hal Robson-Kanu, who’s outstanding goal against Belgium in the Euro 2016 quarter final saw him win the FAW Goal of the Year prize.

Table PTS W D L
1Real Madrid 27 8 3 0
2Barcelona 25 8 1 2
3Villarreal 22 6 4 1
Full standing
Next matches
Atlético - Real Madrid S-19/11 20:45
Real Madrid - Sporting S-26/11 16:15
Barcelona - Real Madrid S-03/12 16:15


  • Messi8Goals
  • Kroos806Passes
  • Illarramendi125Steals

*Update 9 de noviembre de 2016