Atlético Madrid had yet more reasons to complain in addition to the penalty referee Gil Manzano failed to give in the first half of their Copa del Rey second leg match against Barcelona at the Camp Nou, when Griezmann had a perfectly legal goal disallowed.
Griezmann goal chalked off
in the 59th minute, Carrasco played a ball into the box for Griezmann to run onto. The French striker then fired home past Cilessen, sending the Atleti fans into delight, with what they thought was the equaliser on the night.
But the assistant referee had misread the play entirely and raised his flag for offside, despite Griezmann having been onside when the Carrasco's pass was played.
Atleti protest to no avail
Despite furious protests from Griezmann and his teammates, referee Gil Manzano disallowed the goal.
Recommended in English
- US NEWS What has Biden said about Justice Breyer's replacement on the Supreme Court?
- SIGA SIGA Global Mentorship Program creating the next generation of female leaders
- NFL How many Super Bowls have the San Francisco 49ers won?
- NFL Chiefs fans donate $223K to Buffalo hospital to mark win vs Bills
- NBA Statue of Kobe and Gianna Bryant erected at crash site
- NBA Giannis admits Cavs deserves greater respect after Bucks win