United's offside appeal for Casemiro's goal waved away
On minute 23, Carvajal picked out Casemiro on the edge of the United penalty area. The Brazilian was a fraction offside but ref Gianluca Rocchi let the goal stand.
Manchester United appealed that Casemiro was in an offside position when the ball was played to him for Real Madrid's opening goal in this evening's European Super Cup final.
On 23 minutes, Dani Carvajal picked out Casemiro on the edge of the United area with a lofted ball in. But replays show the Brazilian to be a fraction offside. Chris Smalling raised his hand to signal offside to the linesman but Italian referee Gianluca Rocchi let the goal stand.
Lindelöf's leg could have been playing Casemiro on
According to AS' in-house referee Eduardo Iturralde González, Casemiro's goal should have been disallowed: "It's difficult to see because he was only a few centimetres over, but it's offside".
Recommended in English
- NFL An Eagle no more: Brandon Brooks retires
- NFL Kwesi Adofo-Mensah all set to be named Vikings GM
- NFL NFL free agency 2022: the five best available quarterbacks
- NFC Chiefs injury report: Tyrann Mathieu in concussion protocol
- NBA Where did Kobe Bryant’s “Black Mamba” nickname originate?
- NBA Mourning Kobe Bryant: what's known about the helicopter crash?