NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Wydad's Nekkach, Rabeh and Ounajem named in CAF Champions League ideal XI

Morocco's Wydad Casablanca lifted Africa's premier club competition this weekend after beating Egyptians Al-Ahly in the final.

Wydad's Nekkach, Rabeh and Ounajem named in CAF Champions League ideal XI

Captain Brahim Nekkach is among three players from winners Wydad Casablanca who have been included in the 2017 CAF Champions League team of the tournament.

Nekkach, Rabeh and Ounajem all included in CAF Champions League XI

The defensive midfielder was chosen along with team-mates Youssef Rabeh and Mohamed Ounajem in a side released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Rabeh was part of a defence that conceded only one goal in seven home Champions League matches while livewire winger Ounajem created numerous goals.

Two Wydad men also among ideal line-up's subs

Another two members of the Moroccans' side, goalkeeper Zouheir Laaroubi and five-goal striker Achraf Bencharki, were among the six substitutes.

Moroccans won first African title against Al-Ahly at weekend

Wydad became African champions last Saturday for the first time since 1992 by defeating record eight-time winners Al Ahly of Egypt 1-0 in the second leg of the final.

The first encounter finished 1-1 in Alexandria the previous weekend.

Tunisia left-back Ali Maaloul and midfielder Moamen Zakaria, who contributed five goals between them during the CAF campaign, were the two Ahly stars to make the team.

Reigning Africa-based Footballer of the Year Denis Onyango of 2016 champions Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa was named goalkeeper.

2017 CAF Champions League team of the tournament:

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns/RSA); Hamdi Nagguez (Etoile Sahel/TUN), Youssef Rabeh (Wydad Casablanca/MAR), Farouk Chafai (USM Alger/ALG), Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly/EGY); Brahim Nekkach (Wydad), Mohamed Amine Ben Amor (Etoile); Moamen Zakaria (Ahly), Percy Tau (Sundowns), Mohamed Ounajem (Wydad); Taha Yassine Khenissi (Esperance/TUN)

Substitutes: Zouheir Laaroubi (Wydad), Ahmed Fathy, Hossam Ashour (both Ahly), Fousseny Coulibaly (Esperance), Achraf Bencharki (Wydad), Oussama Darfalou (USM)


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?