Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Marc Márquez crowned MotoGP world champion for fourth time

The Spaniard came close to crashing out during the Cheste Grand Prix but it was only challenger, Andrea Dovizioso, who failed to finish in Valencia.
Champions League Final: Real Madrid - Liverpool

Marc Márquez crowned MotoGP world champion for fourth time
Manuel Bruque.EFE

Marc Márquez won his fourth MotoGP world championship in five years on Sunday after his only rival Andrea Dovizioso crashed out of the season-ending race in Valencia.

The 24-year-old Spaniard, who had started on pole position with a 21-point lead, becomes the sport's youngest ever four-times champion in the top category.

Márquez was guaranteed the title with a top-11 finish or if Dovizioso failed to win the race.

And the Italian's fate was sealed when he crashed out five laps from the end.

Márquez's Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa won the race from France's Johann Zarco in second.

Starting from pole, Márquez waved Zarco through on the fourth lap to rule out any chance of an untimely early crash.

However, he couldn't resist an attack on the Frenchman to try and win the championship in style with eight laps to go and ran wide, dropping him down to fifth.

Full screen

Lorenzo and Dovizioso both failed to finish

Yet, Ducati's hopes of usurping Márquez were quickly undone as Jorge Lorenzo and then Dovizioso both crashed out as they paid the price for pushing at the limit for the whole race.

Up front Pedrosa and Zarco were left to battle it out for the race win in a pulsating final few laps.

Ultimately though the Spaniard came out on top on home soil to deny Zarco his first MotoGP win and round off a perfect day for the Honda pair.