Russia 2018 WC pots confirmed ahead of December draw

The draw to determine the groups at next summer's World Cup is to be staged in the Russian capital on December 1st.

Russia 2018 WC pots confirmed ahead of December draw

The 32 nations who will participate at next summer's World Cup are now confirmed, FIFA have confirmed the composition of the four pots from which the teams will be drawn to make the eight groups. The draw itself will take place in Moscow's Kremlin (18:00 start in Russia on 1 December).

The host nation and the current world champions Germany are both in the pot reserved for top seeds and are joined by Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France. The seeding is based on the current FIFA world ranking which in consequence sees Spain placed in pot 2.

The second tier pot sees 'La Roja' joined by the likes of England, Mexico, Colombia with Spanish observers hoping that Lopetegui's men draw either Russia or Poland, the perceived "easy" sides from the top seeds. Croatia, Switzerland and last nation to qualify, Peru complete the eight teams.

Two UEFA based sides in Pot 3

Denmark's midfielder Christian Eriksen (C) and teammates celebrate on the pitch after the FIFA World Cup 2018 qualifying football match, second leg, between Republic of Ireland and Denmark at Aviva Stadium in Dublin on November 14, 2017.

One of the deciding factors when coming to group composition is that Europe aside, no group can feature countries from the same confederation. If Group A already features two UEFA zone sides when the draw is being made, then it will be impossible for Pot 3 Euro nations Iceland or Denmark to feature in that respective group. The Danes and Icelanders are joined by  Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal and Iran in Pot 3.

All four Asian based sides (with Australia representing AFC) are in pot 4 (Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia and Australia) along with Nigeria, Morocco and Serbia.