NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Cristiano Ronaldo penalty volley: a trick he did at Man Utd, says Rio

"He used to do that in training," said Rio Ferdinand of Cristiano's spot-kick, while ex-ref Graham Poll has declared it shouldn't have stood.
Cruz Azul vs America: Liga MX, live online

Cristiano Ronaldo penalty volley: a trick he did at Man Utd, says Rio

Rio Ferdinand has suggested that Cristiano Ronaldo may have deliberately volleyed in his equalising penalty in Real Madrid's Champions League victory over Paris Saint-Germain.

Cristiano's 45th-minute strike, his 100th goal in the competition for Real, cancelled out Adrien Rabiot's opener for PSG as the holders won 3-1 in Wednesday night's last-16 first leg.

Ferdinand: "Cristiano used to do that in training"

Television replays showed the ball appearing to bounce slightly from the impact of the Portugal captain planting his left foot next to the spot before firing past goalkeeper Alphonse Areola with his right.

And Ferdinand, who played with Cristiano at Manchester United, claimed on BT Sport that this could have been an intentional move by the 33-year-old - and that he had seen him practise it during their time together at Old Trafford.

"He used to do that in training, you know," Ferdinand insisted. "I swear, crazy."

Penalty should have been retaken, says former ref

As Cristiano only seems to connect with the ball with his right foot, such a spot-kick would not count as a double-touch, which is against the laws of the game.

However, former referee Graham Poll has revealed that it should not have stood as the ball is not allowed to be in motion when a penalty is struck.

"The ball must be stationary," Poll explained to the Daily Mail. "So had the referee spotted it, the kick would have been retaken."


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?