Barcelona concede a penalty for the first time in two years
Referee Mateu Lahoz awarded a spot kick in the 46th minute on Gran Canaria. Barça last conceded a penalty in a match against Celta in 2016.
Barcelona conceded a penalty for the first time in over two years in the LaLiga match against Las Palmas on Thursday evening.
Barcelona penalised for handball
In the 46th minute, with Barcelona leading 0-1 courtesy of a stunning free-kick from Lionel Messi, Las Palmas took a corner. Lucas Digne handled the ball at the far post while Sergi Roberto grappled with Matías Aguirregaray at the near post. It is not clear which offence the referee - Mateu Lahoz - penalised, but he pointed to the spot.
The last time Barcelona conceded a penalty in LaLiga was on February 14th 2016 in a match against Celta Vigo.
Calleri found the top corner
To place that time frame in context, Barcelona 'keeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen had not previously faced a penalty while playing for the club.
Jonathan Calleri swept the spot kick in to the top corner, to level the scores at 1-1.
Recommended in English
- MLB Why is the MLB close to a lockout? What are the key issues?
- NFL Where does the Dallas Cowboys - New York Giants team rivalry comes from?
- NFL Who has the biggest NFL rivalry?
- US NEWS What services are likely to stop during a government shutdown?
- SUPREME COURT ABORTION CASES Supreme Court on Roe v Wade live updates: arguments, Abortion Law, Mississippi...
- NFL Who are the 10 best Dallas Cowboy players of all time?