Cristiano Ronaldo misses penalty awarded by the VAR
The Portuguese striker was brought down in the box in the 50th minute in Portugal's World Cup match against Iran and referee Enrique Cáceres gave the spot-kick after consulting with the VAR.
Cristiano Ronaldo missed a penalty, awarded using the VAR, in Portugal's final group match at the World Cup in Russia, which proved to be decisive in his side finishing second in Group B behind Spain.
The Portugal striker went down in the box in the 50th minute; the referee was advised by the VAR to check the replays. Upon reviewing the footage referee Enrique Cáceres gave the spot-kick.
The Real Madrid player sent his effort right, but far too close to Beiranvand in the Iran goalmouth. The keeper not only saved the shot, he was even able to hold the ball.
Portugal slip to second thanks to Cristiano Ronaldo miss
Had Cristiano Ronaldo scored Portugal would have taken a 2-0 lead; had they then gone on, as looked likely, to take all three points they would have finished top of the group, given Spain's 2-2 draw with Morocco. However Iran came back at the end to score their own VAR awarded penalty, with the 1-1 final result allowing Spain to move ahead of Portugal.
Portugal therefore play Uruguay, the winners of Group A, while Spain get the, in theory, easier tie against hosts Russia.
Te recomendamos en English
- PSG Mbappé is a fantastic guy - Pochettino backs PSG forward
- BARCELONA Ronald Koeman receives two-match ban for red card
- MLB The regular season is closing in, and the division champions are not yet decided
- FINANCIAL NEWS Is the Evergrande bankruptcy affecting the US stock market?
- UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS Unemployment benefits: can self-employed workers qualify for a new round of payments?
- CORONAVIRUS Coronavirus US: are the new variants more dangerous for children?