NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


9 Real Madrid players nominated for UEFA Team of the Year

Including Cristiano Ronaldo, who left for Juventus in the summer, Real Madrid have nine players nominated in UEFA's Team of the Year.

9 Real Madrid players nominated for UEFA Team of the Year

Real Madrid, who celebrated their third consecutive Champions League victory last season, have nine players nominated for UEFA's Team of the Year award. The 11 names who eventually make the team is picked by fans and does not have UEFA's official logo on it but the 50 players nominated were selected by a panel of journalists and reporters. 

Voting takes place to determine the team until 11 January. 

Of the 50 names to choose from, there are five goalkeepers, fifteen defenders, fifteen midfielders and fifteen strikers).

Familiar names from the Santiago Bernabeu include Keylor Navas, defenders Sergio Ramos, Marcelo and Raphael Varane, midfielders Casemiro, Isco Alarcón, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric, along with attackers Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Barcelona have Marc-Andre Ter Stegen, defenders Jordi Alba, Gerard Piqué and Samuel Umtiti along with midfielders Ivan Rakitic and strikers Leo Messi and Luis Suárez.

Meanwhile, Atlético have Jan Oblak, defenders José María Giménez, Diego Godín and Lucas Hernandez along with midfielders Saúl Ñíguez and French striker Antoine Griezmann.

Nominated Players

- Goalkeepers: Allison Becker (Roma/Liverpool), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid) y Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona).

- Defenders: Jordi Alba, Gerard Piqué, Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), José María Giménez, Diego Godín, Lucas Hernández (Atlético Madrid), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Kostas Manolas (Roma), Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), John Stones (Manchester City), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool).

- Midfielders: Casemiro, Isco Alarcón, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Kevin de Bruyne, David Silva (Manchester City), Eden Hazard, N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), James Milner (Liverpool), Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Dmitri Payet, Florian Thauvin (Marseille), Miralem Pjanic (Juventus), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona).

- Strikers: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani, Kylian Mbappe, Neymar (PSG), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Edin Dzeko (Roma), Roberto Firmino, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Leo Messi, Luis Suárez (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?