Vinicius penalty appeal waved away by ref and VAR
In the 65th minute of Real's loss to Sociedad, visiting keeper Rulli appeared to clip the Brazilian without getting the ball but the eye in the sky was not summoned.
Real Madrid’s loss to Real Sociedad – the first the visitors had chalked up in the Bernabéu since 2004 – could have swung a different way had Vinicius been awarded what appeared to be a clear-cut penalty in the 65th minute.
Running across the face of goal in an attempt to round Géronimo Rulli with the score at 0-1, Vinicius was clipped by the Sociedad keeper with no apparent contact with the ball made. However, neither match official Munuera Montero or the VAR team watching from on high deemed the offence worthy of a penalty or even a review, despite the vociferous protests of Real’s players.
Vinicius incident "a clear penalty"
“It’s a clear penalty,” AS’ resident refereeing expert Iturralde González said on Spanish radio during the game. “Munuera Montero has made a mistake and so has the VAR official, Melero López. The game should have been stopped and the replays consulted. That’s what VAR is for. Munuera can make an error on the pitch because of the speed of play but if you have access to the replays you can’t fail to spot such an obvious penalty.”
Over the course of the season, Melero López has only alerted a match official to a VAR-worthy situation on one occasion. Only one official, Iglesias Villanueva, has yet to call a single VAR review during a Liga game in 2018-19 so far.
Te recomendamos en English
- US NEWS How can I register to vote in New Jersey?
- USMNT Christian Pulisic is ‘really suffering’ after ankle injury setbacks
- MLS Landon Donovan rejects the Real Salt Lake managerial job
- SOCCER Barcelona close to agreeing new Ansu Fati contract - Koeman
- NBA Milwaukee Bucks 21/22: roster, new signings, cuts and trades
- NBA Los Angeles Lakers 21/22: roster, new signings, cuts and trades