NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Champions League quarter-final draw: English clubs dominate

All four English sides are through to the last eight. The draw for the next round is in Nyon, at 12:00 noon CET on Friday 15 March.

Champions League quarter-final draw: English clubs dominate

The draw for the Champions League quarter-finals will be held this Friday 15 March at 12 noon (CET) in Nyon, Switzerland after Wednesday's matches decided the final two teams to go into the pot, with Liverpool and Barcelona claiming their places as they defeated Bayern Munich and Lyon respectively.

Champions League quarter-final draw

The draw for the quarter-finals has no restrictions, meaning teams from the same country can now be tied together.

The only Spanish side in the draw is Barcelona, who knocked out Lyon 5-1 at the Camp Nou. Joining them in the quarter-finals are all four English sides in the competition: Manchester City, Tottenham, Manchester United and Liverpool. That's the first time that's happened since 2008-09 (Barcelona won the trophy that season).

Juventus are one of the sides most will want to avoid, after they came back from 2-0 down to knock Atlético Madrid out on Tuesday night, with Cristiano Ronaldo scoring a hat-trick. Ajax and Porto make up the final eight in this year's edition of the tournament. In total the clubs in the quarter-finals have 21 European Cups between them, with only Tottenham and Manchester City yet to lift Europe's premier club trophy.

Champions League schedule

The first leg of the quarter-finals will be on 9 and 10 April, with the return legs on 16 and 17 of the same month. The first legs of the semi-finals will be on 30 April and 1 May, the return legs on 7 and 8 May. All the matches will start at 21:00 CET. The final will be on 1 June in Madrid, at the Wanda Metropolitano.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?