Gold Cup

USA and Mexico in a Gold Cup Final after eight years

Since that Giovani Dos Santos iconic goal, Mexico and the United States did not cross in the maximum Concacaf tournament. It's the sixth final between them.

Guardado and Pulisic in action during a Mexico vs USA match

Mexico and the United States are the two CONCACAF powers, and once again they will face each other in the Gold Cup final, which will be the sixth time they will meet in the most crucial match of the tournament where the ruler of the continent will be defined.

It's been eight years since the last time that Mexico and USA clashed in the final match of the Gold Cup, with a positive balance for El Tri.

The CONCACAF Clasico is a game that is continuously happening for friendly match or World Cup qualifiers, but in the Gold Cup, it didn't happen since 2011 when Mexico achieved its sixth championship. Its been eight years since that Gio Dos Santos iconic goal which sentenced the 4-2 victory for the squad led at that time by Jose Manuel de la Torre.

In 1991 the first Gold Cup edition, they met in the semifinal round, the victory 2-0 was for the American side, at Rose Bowl.

Mexico vs USA Gold Cup

Edition Score Stage Stadium City
1991 USA 2-0 Mexico Semifinals Rose Bowl
Pasadena, California
1993 México 4-0 USA Final Estadio Azteca CDMX, México
1998 USA 0-1 Mexico Final Memorial Coliseum
Los Ángeles, California
2007 USA 2-1 Mexico Final Soldier Field Chicago, Illinois
2009 USA 0-5 Mexico Final Giants Stadium
East Rutherford, New Jersey
2011 USA 2-4 Mexico Final Rose Bowl
Pasadena, California
2019 USA -- Mexico Final Soldier Field Chicago, Illinois

Mexico's dominance

The 2019 Gold Cup final will be the sixth time both teams face each other with a positive balance for the Mexican side, with four wins, while the United States gets the other two victories.

The first USA vs Mexico final was in the 1993 edition at the Estadio Azteca, where the home team earned the 4-o win to became champions.

The US side has only beaten the hated rival in the 2007 edition, equalizing the Mexican trophies at four each at that time. Landon Donovan and Feilhaber were behind the US victory at Soldier Field, coincidentally the same stadium where the 2019 final will be held.