NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

International football

Sarabia one of two uncapped players in Spain squad

Robert Moreno has included a pair of uncapped players in the first Spain squad named since he became head coach on a full-time basis.

Sarabia one of two uncapped players in Spain squad

Unai Núñez and Pablo Sarabia could win their first international caps after being named in the Spain squad for September's two Euro 2020 qualifiers.

Robert Moreno has made seven changes for the matches against Romania and Faroe Islands, his first since replacing Luis Enrique as head coach on a permanent basis in June.

The former Barcelona boss stepped down to care for his young daughter, who died on Thursday following a battle with bone cancer.

Moreno served as Luis Enrique's assistant at Roma, Celta Vigo and Barça before following him to the national team.

His first major decisions are to give Athletic Bilbao defender Núñez and Paris Saint-Germain winger Sarabia the chance to impress.

Midfielders Saúl, Thiago Alcantara and Dani Ceballos return to the fold, with AC Milan attacker Suso and Borussia Dortmund striker Paco Alcacer also recalled.

Álvaro Morata, Marco Asensio, Iñigo Martínez and Isco are all out through injury, while Iago Aspas, Santi Cazorla and Sergi Roberto have been dropped.

Spain have won four matches from four in qualifying to sit top of Group F, five points clear of second-placed Sweden.

Spain squad in full

Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea), David de Gea (Manchester United), Pau López (Roma); Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), José Gayá (Valencia), Mario Hermoso (Atlético Madrid), Diego Llorente (Real Sociedad), Jesús Navas (Sevilla), Unai Núñez (Athletic Bilbao), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid); Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Dani Ceballos (Real Madrid, on loan at Arsenal), Dani Parejo (Valencia), Rodri (Manchester City), Fabián Ruiz (Naples), Saúl (Atletico Madrid), Suso (AC Milan), Thiago Alcântara (Bayern Munich); Paco Alcácer (Borussia Dortmund), Mikel Oyarzábal (Real Sociedad), Rodrigo (Valencia), Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?