NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

FIFA Club World Cup 2019 draw: Liverpool learn possible opponents

FIFA Club World Cup 2019 draw: Liverpool learn possible opponents

"I'm really excited for the competition... this is one of the difficult ones to win so I'm sure every team will go full at it," says Owen following the draw. His former club, Liverpool, is set to face Al Saad, Hienghene or Monterrey in the semi-final. 

Semi final:

Winner Match 3 vs CONMEBOL winner

Winner Match 2 vs Liverpool FC

Round 1

Match 2: Winner of Match 1 (Al Saad or Hienghene) vs Monterrey

Match 3: AFC winner vs ES Tunis

The opening game has already been determined: Al Saad (Host) vs Hienghene Sport (OFC). 

Michael Owen has made his entrance after the presenter reel's off his impressive CV. 

This will be Qatar's first time hosting the competition, a pre-cursor to the Gulf nation's hosting of the Fifa World Cup in 2022. 

Five minutes to show time as Michael Owen warms up his hands for the draw. Here are those seven teams involved (two of which are yet to be decided): 

Al Sadd (Host); Hienghene Sport (OFC); Liverpool (UEFA); Monterrey (Concacaf); Esperance (CAF); AFC Champions League 2019 winners (Final on 9 and 24 November); CONMEBOL Libertadores 2019 winners (final on 23 November)

Liverpool are back in the tournament after a 14-year absence. And Klopp's men will be keen to make history by bringing home the only trophy to have never featured in the Anfield cabinet. 

December will see the 16th edition of the tournament. Real Madrid have lifted the trophy on a record four occasions, winning the last three consecutively. The competition has only been won by a non-European side on four occasions (always by Brazilian clubs): Corinthians (2000 and 2012), Sao Paolo (2005) and Internacional (2006). 

Under the new format of the Super Club World Cup to be launched in 2021, Europe will be represented by the winners of the Champions League and Europa League from the previous four seasons - eight teams in total.

So far, two Spanish and two English clubs have qualified: Real Madrid (as Champions League winners in 2018), Atlético de Madrid (as 2018 Europa League winners), Liverpool (Champions League winners 2019) and Chelsea (Europa League winners 2019). 

Liverpool are the only real big club to feature in the Club World Cup, as the tournament is limited to one UEFA representative. But the format of the competition is set to change in 2021 to include more of the top European clubs. You can read more about that here

Michael Owen is ready for the draw, which consists of seven teams: the six champions from each of the world’s confederations and the domestic league winners of host nation Qatar, which is Xavi's Al Saad.

Owen made the move to Real Madrid from Liverpool and it is Los Blancos who currently hold the Club World Cup title.

European Champions Liverpool FC are looking to win the trophy for the first ever time and fans of The Reds will note that a familiar face will be assisting with today's proceedings. Michael Owen burst onto the scene as a fresh-faced striking sensation for the Anfield club in the mid-90s and these days is found among the pundits of the game.

Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the draw for the Club World Cup 2019. We'll give you all the information you need to know about the tournament and, of course, the all important fixtures as they're decided...


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?