Coronavirus

USA coronavirus updates: deaths, cases, real-time map - 15 and 16 April

Updates on the total number of registered Covid-19 cases, deaths and discharged patients, both in the United States and across the world on Wednesday 15 and Thursday 16 April

USA coronavirus updates: deaths, cases, real-time map - 15 and 16 April
LARRY W. SMITH EFE

Confirmed US coronavirus cases

As of 03:00 CEST Thursday 16 April (21:00 EDT, 18:00 PDT Wednesday 15 April), there had been a total of 632,878 confirmed cases of coronavirus in the US, with 27,850 deaths. 51,160 people in the country have officially recovered after contracting Covid-19.

Worldwide real-time coronavirus map

Click here if the map doesn't automatically appear. (Map created and hosted by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, our thanks to them.)

Worldwide coronavirus cases

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at
2,060,927
while 134,354 people have died from Covid-19 and 511,356 have recovered from the disease.

Donald Trump does not have "total authority"

Despite his claims, Donald Trump's powers over lockdown rules during the coronavirus crisis are limited.

Live coverage of the coronavirus crisis

You can keep up-to-date with the latest developments in the coronavirus pandemic by following our daily live blog.