Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What are the NFL Playoff overtime rules?

The 2020 National Football League Playoffs are set with six teams winning their Wild-Card games and obtaining their pass to the divisional round.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
What are the NFL Playoff overtime rules?
Joe SargentAFP

The Buffalo Bills, Los Angeles Rams, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Baltimore Ravens, New Orleans Saints and the Cleveland Browns booked their ticket to the divisional round after winning their Wild-Card games this past weekend. The next round of the 2020 NFL Playoffs are set to begin on 16 January.

Overtime rules

In case there is a draw at the end of the four quarters the game will go to an overtime period. During this period the teams will play an extra quarter and there is no limit of overtime periods until a winner is determined.

There will be a two-minute break between each overtime period. The winner of the coin-toss will determine if they want the first possession of the ball or select the goal they want to defend. During the overtime period both teams will get three timeouts and the same timing rules that apply at the end of the second and fourth quarters, will apply in the overtime period.

If there is no winner after four overtime periods, there will be another coin toss and they will keep playing until a winner is determined. These rules change a little for the NFL postseason because there can be no tie, unlike the preseason and regular season games.

After the conclusion of the Divisional round (17 January) only four teams will advance to their Conference championships that will begin on 24 January. The National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC) will be played at the stadiums of the highest remaining seeds for each conference.