NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


David Beckham tops the list of finalists for the US Hall of Fame

The Los Angeles Galaxy legend was named as one of the finalists for the National Soccer Hall of Fame’s 2021 Class that was announced on Tuesday.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
David Beckham tops the list of finalists for the US Hall of Fame

David Beckham made a huge impact in Major League Soccer when he signed with the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2007. During his five years in the league, David Beckham won the Supporters’ Shield in the 2009/10 and 2011/12 seasons.

But that wasn't all, his commitment to the league was utterly serious - Beckham also won the MLS Cup twice in the 2010/11 and 2011/12 season with the LA Galaxy. He helped the team become the first club in the league to win five championships at that time. Now he continues to contribute to the league's growth and he is the co-owner of Inter Miami CF.

Another recognition for Beckham

On Tuesday the National Soccer Hall of Fame (NSHF) announced the 9 finalists for the 2021 Class, placing the names of the selected players in a ballot because of their illustrious careers in Major League Soccer. In this list is David Beckham who played for the LA Galaxy and now is co-owner of Inter Miami CF.

In this list the NSHF also included the current United States men’s national head coach Gregg Berhalter and CF Montreal impact head coach Thierry Henry. The other candidates are Austin FC head coach Josh Wolff, Real Salt Lake assistant coach Pablo Mastroeni and New England Revolution academy coach Shalrie Joseph, as well as LA Galaxy academy director (soccer operations) Kevin Hartman and Columbus Crew SC front office member Frankie Hejduk. An additional highlight is former USMNT defender Oguchi Onyewu, who closed his playing career with the Philadelphia Union.

The Hall of Fame’s new Selection Committees will vote on 5 February through 10 February to determine a class of two to four members. The results will be announced in March before the 2021 and 2020 class are both enshrined during a 22 May ceremony in Frisco, Texas.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?