Copa América

2021 Copa América quarter-finals: matches, venues and dates

With the group stage now concluded, we enter the decisive stage of the tournament with the last eight countries still in with a chance of winning the title.

0
2021 Copa América quarter-finals: matches, venues and dates
RICARDO MORAES REUTERS

The group stage of Copa América, in which there were 10 nations split into two groups (A and B), reached its conclusion on Monday night, with Bolivia and Venezuela finishing bottom of their respective groups and bowing out of the tournament.

Bolivia exit from Group A after having lost all four of their games – they suffered defeats to Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. Venezuela were the team to drop out of Group B, finishing on two points. Brazil, Peru, Colombia and Ecuador progress to the knockout round.

2021 Copa América quarter-finals

Brazil-Chile

On paper, this is probably the most one-sided tie out of the four quarter-finals. Brazil, one of the favourites to win the tournament, ended as champions of their group with 10 points from three wins and a draw. However, from what we have seen of them so far, the Seleção have yet to really get into full gear.

Chile meanwhile, looked a little inconsistent during the group stage but have shown in the past that whatever the circumstances, they are always a tough team to beat and they will be hopeful of pulling a surprise in Rio. This could be the last chance of glory at the Copa América for a generation of players who are in the twilight of their playing careers.

Brazil vs Chile. Friday 2 July 2021. 16:00 hours local time. Estadio Nilton Santos, Rio de Janeiro

US (EDT): 3 pm

US (PDT): 12 noon

UK (BST): 8 pm

Sin titulo

Peru-Paraguay

One of the most anticipated clashes in the Last 8 between two teams who are capable of anything. Peru have been steadily growing in confidence as the Copa América has wore on and would love another shot at the title after losing the 2019 final to Brazil. Coach Ricardo Gareca has added several new faces to his side since then.

Eduardo Berizzo’s Paraguay have always proved an uncomfortable team to face - one which is capable of looking seemingly  without threatening then suddenly causing a lot of damage. This could go either way.

Peru vs Paraguay. Friday 2 July 2021. 13:00 hours local time. Estadio Olímpico, Goiânia

US (EDT): 12 noon

US (PDT): 9 am

UK (BST): 5 pm

Argentina-Ecuador

Another quarter-final with a lot of expectations. Scaloni’s troops are without doubt, the favouritesArgentina have not lost a match in almost two years and have enough punching power in attack to beat anyone. Their only shortcomings have been in defence. Ecuador, without a win during the group stage, have a host of new players who could surprise Argentina - plus coach Gustavo Alfaro, being Argentinean, will know exactly where to hurt Messi and Co.

Argentina vs Ecuador. Saturday 3 July. 17:00 hours local time. Estadio Olímpico, Goiânia

US (EDT): 4 pm

US (PDT): 1 pm

UK (BST): 9 pm

Sin titulo

Uruguay-Colombia

Another finely-balanced tie. Tabárez’s team began the group stage tentatively but improved as it went along and won their last two games (against Bolivia and Paraguay). For Colombia it was the exact opposite – they were beaten by Peru and Brazil. Both teams have quality to spare in attack, with some names that need no introduction (Luis Suárez, Cavani, Duván Zapata). All of the ingredients are there for what looks set to be a great contest between two sides that could go all the way. Whoever progresses will meet the winner of Argentina vs Ecuador.

Uruguay vs Colombia. Saturday 3 July. 12:00 hours local time. Estadio Mané Garrincha

US (EDT): 1 pm

US (PDT): 10 am

UK (BST): 6 pm