Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Historical top scorers at the CONCACAF Gold Cup: full list

Take a look at the all-time leading marksmen at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, as well as the top scorers at each edition of the tournament.

Historical top scorers at the CONCACAF Gold Cup: full list
Jonathan DanielGetty Images

Former United States men’s national team star Landon Donovan is the CONCACAF Gold Cup’s all-time highest scorer, having notched up 18 goals across six editions of the tournament.

Americans Donovan, Dempsey the Gold Cup's top marksmen

Donavan, a four-time winner of the competition with the USMNT, was the joint-top scorer at three separate Gold Cups - in 2003, 2005 and 2013 - after finishing with four, three and five goals, respectively.

Donovan is followed in the Gold Cup scoring charts by compatriot Clint Dempsey, who netted a total of 13 times at the Gold Cup in 2005, 2007, 2011 and 2015, top-scoring at the latter tournament with seven.

Donavan and Dempsey share the record as the USMNT’s leading marksmen in all competitions, having each found the target on 57 occasions during their international careers.

Clint Dempsey is second to Landon Donovan on the all-time Gold Cup scorers list.
Full screen
Clint Dempsey is second to Landon Donovan on the all-time Gold Cup scorers list.Mike SegarReuters

Mexico's Zaguinho, Guardado share third place in all-time ranking

Completing the Gold Cup scoring podium behind the American pair are two Mexicans, Luis Roberto Alves and Andrés Guardado, who have each managed 12 career goals at the tournament.

Alves, also known as Zaguinho, holds the record for the most goals scored at a single Gold Cup, having netted 11 times in Mexico’s victorious 1993 campaign.

Meanwhile, despite his high ranking among the competition’s leading all-time scorers - and the fact that his six strikes in 2015 would have been enough to top the goal charts at 11 of the other 14 Gold Cups so far played - Guardado has never finished as the leading marksman at an individual edition of the tournament.

Gold Cup: top 10 all-time top scorers

Here's a list of the top scorers in the history of the Gold Cup:

PositionPlayerTotal Gold Cup goals
1Landon Donovan (USA)18
2Clint Dempsey (USA)13
3Luis Roberto Alves (Mexico)12
3Andrés Guardado (Mexico)12
5Blas Pérez (Panama)11
6Luis Tejada (Panama)10
7Walter Centeno (Costa Rica)9
7Carlos Pavón (Honduras)9
7Eric Wynalda (USA)9
7Rodolfo Zelaya (El Salvador)9

Gold Cup: top scorers by tournament

Here is a list of the top scorers at every Gold Cup since the tournament's inception in 1991:

YearTop scorer(s)Goals
1991Benjamín Galindo (Mexico)4
1993Luís Roberto Alves (Mexico)11
1996Eric Wynalda (USA)4
1998Paulo Wanchope (Costa Rica), Luis Hernández (Mexico)4
2000Carlo Corazzin (Canada)4
2002Brian McBride (USA)4
2003Walter Centeno (Costa Rica), Landon Donovan (USA)4
2005Carlos Ruiz (Guatemala), Wilmar Velásquez (Honduras), Luis Tejada (Panama), DaMarcus Beasley (USA), Landon Donovan (USA)3
2007Carlos Pavón (Honduras)5
2009Miguel Sabah (Mexico)4
2011Javier Hernández (Mexico)7
2013Gabriel Torres (Panama), Landon Donovan (USA), Chris Wondolowski (USA)5
2015Clint Dempsey (USA)7
2017Alphonso Davies (Canada), Kévin Parsemain (Martinique), Jordan Morris (USA)3
2019Jonathan David (Canada)6