NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What US tennis players have won the most Olympic medals? Full list of winners

Tennis has been part of the Olympic program since it's official inauguration in 1986, but was dropped between 1924-1984. Since then, US stands as the unquestionable medal leader.

Bethanie Mattek-Sands of the United States in action during her women's doubles quarterfinal match.

Men's Olympic Tennis

Tennis was first played at Summer Olympics in the 1896 Olympic Games, held in Athens. In this tournament, only two events were played: men's singles and men's doubles. Between 1928 and 1984, tennis was not included in the Olympic Games program and made a comeback in 1988 at Seoul Olympics.

The following table lists all medalists in Tennis Men's Singles event at Olympic Games.

Tennis Men's Singles Winners at Olympics

1896John Plus Boland (Great Britain)Dionysios Kasdaglis (Greece)Konstantinos Paspatis, Momcsilló Tapavicza (Greece, Hungary)
1900Laurence Doherty (Great Britain)Harold Mahony (Great Britain)Reginald Doherty, Arthur Norris (Great Britain)
1904Beals Wright (USA)Robert LeRoy (USA)Alphonzo Bell, Edgar Leonard (USA)
1908Josiah Ritchie (Great Britain)Otto Froitzheim (Germany)Wilberforce Eaves (Great Britain)
1912Charles Winslaw (South Africa)Harold Kitson (South Africa)Oscar Kreuzer (Germany)
1920Louis Raymond (South Africa)Ichiya Kumagae (Japan)Charles Winslow (South Africa)
1924Vincent Richards (USA)Henri Cochet (France)Umberto De Morpurgo (Italy)
1988Miloslav Mečíř (Czechoslovakia)Tim Mayotte (USA)Brad Gilbert, Stefan Edberg (USA, Sweden)
1992Marc Rosset (Switzerland)Jordi Arrese (Spain)Andrei CHERKASOV, Goran Ivaniševic (Unified Team, Croatia)
1996Andre Agassi (USA)Sergi Bruguera (Spain)Leander Paes (India)
2000Yevgeny Kafelnikov (Russia)Tommy Haas (Germany)Arnaud Di Pasquale (France)
2004Nicolás Massú (Chile)Mardy Fish (USA)Fernando González (Chile)
2008Rafael Nadal (Spain)Fernando González (Chile)Novak Ðokovic (Serbia)
2012Andy Murray (Great Britain)Roger Federer (Switzerland)Juan Martín del Potro (Argentina)
2016Andy Murray (Great Britain)Juan Martín del Potro (Argentina)Kei Nishikori (Japan)

Women's Olympic Tennis

Women were allowed to join the Olympic's Tennis competition in singles and mixed doubles events starting at the Paris 1900 Olympic Games.

Serena Williams, left, and Venus Williams of the United States laugh together on the podium after receiving their gold medals in women's doubles at the 2012 Summer Olympics at the All England Lawn Tennis Club in Wimbledon, London.
Full screen
Serena Williams, left, and Venus Williams of the United States laugh together on the podium after receiving their gold medals in women's doubles at the 2012 Summer Olympics at the All England Lawn Tennis Club in Wimbledon, London.Elise AmendolaAP

However, equality was still a controversial problem and they were not included in the 1904 Olympic program.

Tennis Women's Singles Winners at Olympics

1900Charlotte Cooper (Great Britain)Hélène Prévost (France)Marion Jones, Hedwiga Rosenbaumová (USA, Bohemia)
1908Dorothea Lambert Chambers (Great Britain)Dora Boothby (Great Britain)Ruth Winch (Great Britain)
1912Marguerite Broquedis (France)Dorothea Köring (Germany)Molla Bjurstedt (Norway)
1920Suzanne Lenglen (France)Dorothy Holman (Great Britain)Kitty McKane (Great Britain)
1924Helen Wills (USA)Julie Vlasto (France)Kitty McKane (Great Britain)
1988Steffi Graf (West Germany)Gabriela Sabatini (Argentina)Zina Garrison, Manuela Maleeva (USA, Bulgaria)
1992Jennifer Capriati (USA)Steffi Graf (Germany)Mary Joe Fernández, Arantxa Sanchez vicario
1996Lindsay Davenport (USA)Arantxa Sánchez Vicario (Spain)Jana Novotná (Czech Republic)
2000Venus Williams (USA)Elena Dementieva (Russia)Monica Seles (USA)
2004Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium)Amélie Mauresmo (France)Alicia Molik (Australia)
2008Elena Dementieva (Russia)Dinara Safina (Russia)Vera Zvonareva (Russia)
2012Serena Williams (USA)Maria Sharapova (Russia)Victoria Azarenka (Belarus)
2016Monica Puig (Puerto Rico)Angelique Kerber (Germany)Petra Kvitová (Czech Republic)

USA's Olympic medallists

Since Tennis made its comeback in 1988 with US Helen Wills' gold medal and Tim Mayotte's silver, Team USA is the unquestioned medal leader with 14 golds and an All average of 24 between men's and women's competitions.

American Venus Williams (four gold, one silver) joined by the English Kathleen McKane (one gold, two silvers, and two bronzes) both hold the record for the most Olympic medals in tennis. Also, Venus Williams won a record four gold medals with her sister Serena Williams in women's doubles.  Only on three occasions happened that a competitor have won back-to-back titles and the team formed by US William sisters having won women's doubles in 2008 and 2012, is one of them, as well as the doubly formed by Mary Joe Fernandez and Gigi Fernández did.

"It's been an amazing experience, five Olympics for me, It's surreal every time I think about that I even came out with any hardware at all."

Venus Williams

Andre Agassi, Brad Gilbert, Mardy Fish, Lindsay Davenport and Monica Seles have also contributed to the 24 medals awarded to US in the past 28 years.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?