NFL

Who plays Thursday Night Football tonight? | TV, time and following games in NFL Week 3

Panthers-Texans game preview and all the info you need on how and when to watch Thursday Night Football, as well as the schedule for the rest of NFL 2021 Week 3.

0
Who plays Thursday Night Football tonight? | TV, time and following games in NFL Week 3
Mike Comer AFP

Week 3 of the 2021 NFL regular season gets underway with Thursday Night Football as the Carolina Panthers travel to Houston to take on the Texans.

The Panthers are tied for the best record (2-0) in NFC South with Super Bowl Champions the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, following wins over the New York Jets (14-19) and the New Orleans Saints (7-26).

Quarterback Sam Darnold was on point against the Saints, making 305 yards for 2 TDs and boasting a 99.1% completion rate. His main target man was DJ Moore (11 targets, 8 rec, 79 yds, 1 TD) for the second week in a row, while running back Christian McCaffrey made an incredible 24 carries, though for just 72 yards.

Going 1-1 into Week 3, the Texans are also tied for the best record with the Titans in their division, AFC South. After taming the Jaguars with a 37-21 on the opening weekend, David Culley's team were undone in Week 2 at the Cleveland Browns, losing 31-21 as QB Tyrod Taylor suffered a hamstring injury in that game.

With Deshaun Watson still inactive over several sexual assault allegations, and Taylor still sidelined, the Texans will have to turn to rookie QB Davis Mills, who played some part last week against the Browns, recording 1 TD but just 102 yards for 18 passing attempts and a poor 44.4% completion rate, after he came on to replace Taylor.

Given the Texans QB problems, the Panthers are the clear favorites to win this clash. Nine of the 10 NFL’s expert picks see Carolina going 3-0 after this game, which will put the pressure on Tom Brady’s Buccaneers to match their record when they travel to face the the LA Rams on Sunday.

Panthers vs Texans: When and how to watch

The 2021 NFL Week 3 clash between the Carolina Panthers and Houston Texans takes place at the NRG Stadium in Houston this Thursday, 23 September, with the game getting underway at 8.20 p.m. ET / 5.20 p.m. ET.

United Kingdom: 1.20 a.m. (early morning, Friday 17 September)

Central Europe: 2.20 a.m. (early morning, Friday 17 September)

NFL Network

NFL Network will be broadcasting live the match-up at the NRG stadium between the Panthers and Texans. You can stream the game on the Fubo App.

NFL Game pass

Outside the US, you can watch the entire game via the NFL’s Game Pro Pass in a considerable number of territories. Check out the various available plans here.

Panthers vs Texans: live AS English coverage

You’ll also be able to follow live text coverage of the Panthers-Texans game right here on AS English. We'll be building up to the game from about an hour ahead of kick-off, before taking you through the action as it unfolds.

NFL Week 3 schedule:

Sunday 26 September

Charge vs Chiefs (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. ET)

Cardinals vs Jaguars (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. ET)

Bears vs Browns (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Washignton vs Bills (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Colts vs Titans (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Saints vs Giants (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Falcons vs Dolphins (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Bengals vs Steelers (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Ravens vs Lions (1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT)

Jets vs Broncos (4.05 p.m. ET / 1.05 p.m. PT)

Dolphins vs Raiders (4.05 p.m. ET / 1.05 p.m. PT)

Buccaneers vs Rams (4.25 p.m. ET / 1.25 p.m. PT)

Seahawks vs Vikings (4.25 p.m. ET / 1.25 p.m. PT)

Packers vs 49ers (8.20 p.m. ET / 5.20 p.m. PT)

Monday Night Football, 27 September

Eagles vs Cowboys (8.15 p.m. / 5.15 p.m. PT)