NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which G-League team belongs to which NBA team?

The NBA G League is the NBA's official minor league basketball organization. The league prepares players, coaches, officials, trainers and front office staff for the NBA.

Which G-League team belongs to which NBA team?

Following a sponsorship and the NBA, the basketball league formerly the NBA Development League or NBA D-League became known as the G-League and serves as the NBA’s official minor league as it prepares players, coaches, officials, trainers and front office staff for the NBA.

2021/22 G-League teams

The 2021-22 season will see 29 teams participate in the minor league with 28 of these teams affiliated with an NBA franchise.

They include: Agua Caliente Clippers (L.A. Clippers), Austin Spurs (San Antonio Spurs), Birmingham Squadron (New Orleans Pelicans), Capital City Go-Go (Washington Wizards), Charge Basketball (Cleveland Cavaliers), College Park Skyhawks (Atlanta Hawks), Delaware Blue Coats (Philadelphia 76ers), Fort Wayne Mad Ants (Indiana Pacers), Grand Rapids Gold (Denver Nuggets), Greensboro Swarm (Charlotte Hornets), Iowa Wolves (Minnesota Timberwolves), Lakeland Magic (Orlando Magic), Long Island Nets (Brooklyn Nets), Maine Celtics (Boston Celtics), Memphis Hustle (Memphis Grizzlies), Motor City Cruise (Detroit Pistons), Oklahoma City Blue (Oklahoma City Thunder), Raptors 905 (Toronto Raptors), Rio Grande Valley Vipers (Houston Rockets), Salt Lake City Stars (Utah Jazz), Santa Cruz Warriors (Golden State Warriors), Sioux Falls Skyforce (Miami Heat), South Bay Lakers (Los Angeles Lakers), Stockton Kings (Sacramento Kings), Texas Legends (Dallas Mavericks), Westchester Knicks (New York Knicks), Windy City Bulls (Chicago Bulls) and Wisconsin Herd (Milwaukee Bucks).

New team, Mexico City Capitanes will make their G-League debut in the 2021-22.

Transition between G-League and NBA

At the beginning of the 2020/21 NBA season, 45 of the players starting games for the 30 NBA franchises had G-League experience with the likes of  Eric Bledsoe, center Rudy Gobert, guard Reggie Jackson, center Clint Capela, include guard Danny Green, forward Pascal Siakam and guard Fred VanVleet all having recent G-League experience.

2020/21 champions

Last year's G-League was won by Lakeland Magic with the team linked to Orlando Magic overcoming resistance from 76ers affiliated team Delaware Blue Coats in the final with the side from Florida running out with a 97-78 win in the March championship final game.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?