NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which G-League team belongs to which NBA team?

As the talent coming out of it’s ranks continues to shine, the G-League is becoming an increasingly more valuable contributor to the NBA’s talent pool.

Which G-League team belongs to which NBA team?
Richard PrepetitGetty

Following a change in sponsorship and strategic backing from the NBA, the basketball league formerly known as the NBA Development League or NBA D-League, became known as the G-League. To this day, the league still continues to serve as the NBA’s official minor league, with the singular purpose of preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers and even front office staff for a career in the NBA.

A look at the G-League teams

Prior to the 2021-22 G-League season there were 29 teams participating in the league, however, that number increased by one when the Mexico City Capitanes became the newest franchise to join. As things stand today, there are 28 NBA affiliated teams out of the 30 that play in the league: The NBA G-League Ignite and the above mentioned new boys from Mexico City. Incidentally, there are also two NBA teams that have no affiliation with any G-League team: The Portland Trail Blazers and the Phoenix Suns. Interestingly, both teams are still permitted to send players to other team’s G League affiliates during the season via the flexible assignment rule, but they don’t get to have a say in how those players are used or developed at the NBAGL level. For a look at the full roster of G-League teams, take a look at the list below:

G-League TeamNBA Affiliate Team
Agua Caliente ClippersLos Angeles Clippers
Austin SpursSan Antonio Spurs
Birmingham SquadronNew Orleans Pelicans
Capital City Go-GoWashington Wizards
Charge BasketballCleveland Cavaliers
College Park SkyhawksAtlanta Hawks
Delaware Blue CoatsPhiladelphia 76ers
Fort Wayne Mad AntsIndiana Pacers
Grand Rapids GoldDenver Nuggets
Greensboro SwarmCharlotte Hornets
Iowa WolvesMinnesota Timberwolves
Lakeland MagicOrlando Magic
Long Island NetsBrooklyn Nets
Maine CelticsBoston Celtics
Memphis HustleMemphis Grizzlies
Mexico City CapitanesNO AFFILIATE
Motor City CruiseDetroit Pistons
Oklahoma City BlueOklahoma City Thunder
Raptors 905Toronto Raptors
Rio Grande Valley VipersHouston Rockets
Salt Lake City StarsUtah Jazz
Santa Cruz WarriorsGolden State Warriors
Sioux Falls SkyforceMiami Heat
South Bay LakersLos Angeles Lakers
Stockton KingsSacramento Kings
Texas LegendsDallas Mavericks
Westchester KnicksNew York Knicks
Windy City BullsChicago Bulls
Wisconsin HerdMilwaukee Bucks

Transition between G-League and NBA

At the beginning of the 2020/21 NBA season, 45 of the players starting games for the 30 NBA franchises had G-League experience with the likes of Eric Bledsoe, center Rudy Gobert, guard Reggie Jackson, center Clint Capela, forward Pascal Siakam and guard Fred VanVleet all having recent G-League experience. Today, a few more names have been added to that list with the likes of guard Danny Green, Mavericks’ J.J. Barea and the Bucks’ Khris Middleton. Though it’s a road less travelled to the NBA, when compared with the Draft system, it’s by no means an indication that there isn’t real star power on offer.

Who were the 2021-22 G-League champions?

Last season saw Rio Grande Valley (RGV) Vipers clinch their fourth championship in 12 years. G-League affiliate of the Houston Rockets, the Vipers have now won the G-League crown in 2010, 2013, 2019 and 2022 which is more than any other team in the league. Needless to say, there were a handful of Rockets assignees who were key in that run including, Trevelin Queen, Daishen Nix, and Anthony Lamb. In Game 2 of the best-of-three G League Finals, the Vipers clinched the 2022 championship with a 131-114 victory (box score) over the Blue Coats who are the Philadelphia 76ers’ affiliate.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?