Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Liga MX 2021 Playoffs final schedule: dates and teams

The winners of Club León versus Tigres UANL and Pumas UNAM versus Atlas will meet in the Liga MX 2021 Playoffs final in December.

MONTERREY, MEXICO - NOVEMBER 28: Carlos Salcedo #3 of Tigres celebrates with teammates after scoring his team’s first goal during the quarterfinals second leg match between Tigres UANL and Santos Laguna as part of the Torneo Grita Mexico A21 Liga MX
Azael RodriguezGetty Images

The Liga MX Apertura semi-finals are upon us. In the two-legged games, Pumas UNAM face Atlas after the side from Guadalajara beat Monterrey on away goals.

Tigres UANL have booked their place in the other semi-final, running out 1-0 winners over Santos Laguna. Club León beat Puebla 2-0 to advance to the semi-final.

Club León vs Tigres UANL

Both León and Tigres reached this stage thanks to their position in the table. Now, only one of them will make it to the final. León were last season's champions and are looking to repeat the feat and be crowned champions in December. Both teams are in their first tournament under their respective coaches.

Pumas UNAM vs Atlas

Pumas boss Andrés Lillini is now dreaming of returning to the final and going for the title that eluded them in the 2020 Guardianes. The last time these two teams met in a play-off of this kind was during the 2004 Apertura.

Liga MX Apertura 2021: semi-final first legs

Wednesday, 1 December: 22:00 ET/19:00 PT: Tigres UANL vs Club León (Estadio Universitario)

Thursday, 2 December: 22:00 ET/19:00 PT: Pumas UNAM vs Atlas (Olimpico Universitario)

Liga MX Apertura 2021: semi-final second legs

Saturday, 4 December, 22:00 ET/19:00 PT: Club León vs Tigres UANL (Estadio Nou Camp)

Sunday, 5 December, 20:00 ET/ 17:00 PT: Atlas vs Pumas UNAM (Estadio Jalisco)

Liga MX Apertura 2021: finals

The winner of Club León vs Tigres will play the winner of Atlas vs Pumas in a two-legged final on Thursday, 9 December and Sunday, 12 December.

The current holder of the title is Club León and the team that holds the most titles is Club América. This year's finals will have two of the four semi-finalists fighting to become the 2021 Liga MX Apertura champion.