Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which F1 driver has the most world championships? Full list of winners

Lewis Hamilton failed to make Formula One history as Max Verstappen won the Drivers' Championship in Sunday's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Mercedes' British driver Lewis Hamilton drives ahead of Red Bull's Dutch driver Max Verstappen at the Yas Marina Circuit during the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix on December 12, 2021. (Photo by Giuseppe CACACE / AFP)

Lewis Hamilton missed his opportunity to overtake Michael Schumacher as Formula One’s most successful ever driver after Max Verstappen won the 2021 world title in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Sunday, although Mercedes have protested the win.

Verstappen snatches F1 title in thrilling finale in Abu Dhabi

In a dramatic finish to the final race of the season, Red Bull’s Verstappen overtook the Mercedes driver on the last lap to claim victory at the Yas Marina Circuit and secure the first world championship of his career.

Hamilton and Verstappen had both gone into the Abu Dhabi GP on 369.5 points, the first time the F1 world championship contenders had been level heading into the final round since Emerson Fittipaldi and Clay Regazzoni in 1974.

See also:

Seven world championships each for Hamilton and Schumacher

Hamilton, 36, remains tied with Schumacher on seven F1 Drivers’ Championships, having drawn level with the German in 2020.

Schumacher, who spent an illustrious 18 seasons in F1 before retiring for a second time in 2012, won two world titles with Benetton in 1994 and 1995, before joining Ferrari and adding five straight championships between 2000 and 2004.

Michael Schumacher won five of his seven F1 world titles with Ferrari.
Full screen
Michael Schumacher won five of his seven F1 world titles with Ferrari.REUTERS

His 2003 triumph saw him surpass Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio’s long-standing record of five Drivers’ Championships, won in 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957.

Hamilton secured his maiden F1 title with McLaren in 2008, before switching to Mercedes in 2013 and winning the drivers’ crown in six out of seven seasons between 2014 and 2020.

The F1 Drivers' Championship's multiple winners

DriverWorld titlesYears won
Michael Schumacher (GER)71994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004
Lewis Hamilton (GBR)72008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)51951, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957
Alain Prost (FRA)41985, 1986, 1989, 1993
Sebastian Vettel (GER)42010, 2011, 2012, 2013
Jack Brabham (AUS)31959, 1960, 1966
Jackie Stewart (GBR)31969, 1971, 1973
Nikki Lauda (AUT)31975, 1977, 1984
Nelson Piquet (BRA)31981, 1983, 1987
Ayrton Senna (BRA)31988, 1990, 1991
Alberto Ascari (ITA)21952, 1953
Graham Hill (GBR)21962, 1968
Jim Clark (GBR)21963, 1965
Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)21972, 1974
Mika Häkkinen (FIN)21998, 1999
Fernando Alonso (ESP)22005, 2006