SOCCER

Spanish Super Cup: full schedule, dates and games

Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético and Athletic Club will be taking part in the 38th edition of the Super Cup, which once again will be hosted in Saudi Arabia.

0
Spanish Super Cup: full schedule, dates and games

Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético Madrid and Athletic Club will be competing with each other to lift the first piece of silverware of the 2021/22 season, the Spanish Super Cup which gets underway next month. This will be the 38th edition of the tournament - the third to be played using the final four format and the second time that it will be staged in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

The winners from the two semi-finals will advance to the final which will be held at the 62,000 capacity King Abdullah Sports City in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia on Sunday 16 January 2022. Both semi-finals and the final will be played at the same venue, all matches will kick-off at the same time - 10pm local time

Holders Athletic take on LaLiga champions Atlético in the first semi-final which will be played at King Abdullah Sports City on Wednesday 12 January 2022, kicking off at the local time of 22:00 hours AST. That is 2pm ET in New York, 11am PT in Los Angeles and 20:00 hours CET for viewers in Spain

Find out what time the 2021/22 Spanish Super Cup semi-final between Athletic and Atlético kicks off wherever you are in the world

The second semi-final will be a cup version of El Clásico between 13-time winners Barcelona and Real Madrid. Jeddah will hold happy memories for Real Madrid, who lifted the trophy there a couple of years ago after beating Atleti on penalties. Barça meanwhile will be looking to turn what has been a disappointing season around in the New Year. They are out of the Champions League and so far off the pace in LaLiga that even a miracle might not be enough to get them back in contention. Putting one over their archenemies would do wonders for their morale. They made it to the final last time around only to lose in extra-time to Athletic - a game in which Leo Messi was sent off.

Find out what time the 2021/22 Spanish Super Cup semi-final between Barcelona and Real Madrid kicks off wherever you are in the world

2021/22 Spanish Super Cup semi-finals

12 January. Athletic Club vs Atlético Madrid

13 January. Barcelona vs Real Madrid

Find out what time the 2021/22 Spanish Super Cup final kicks off wherever you are in the world

2021/22 Spanish Super Cup final

16 January. Winners of SF1 vs Winners of SF2