Spanish Super Cup: who is the competition's top scorer? Full list

Real Madrid and Barça have traditionally dominated the Spanish Super Cup: Barça have won the trophy a record 13 times with Madrid two behind on 11.

Spanish Super Cup: who is the competition top scorer? Full list

The third edition of the four-team Spanish Super Cup will be held in Saudi Arabia from 12-16 January with reigning champions Athletic Bilbao, Atlético Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid vying for the mid-season silverware at the King Fahd International Stadium in Riyadh. Last season’s tournament in Seville saw Athletic beat Real Madrid 2-1 in the semis and Barça squeeze past Real Sociedad on penalties to reach the final. This year, there will be a Clásico to get the ball rolling, with Athletic and Atlético going head-to-head in the second semi, leading to the possibility of yet another Athletic-Barça showdown: the sides also contested last season’s Copa del Rey final and have been drawn to meet again in this year’s domestic cup competition.

Real Madrid and Barça have traditionally dominated the Spanish Super Cup: Barça have won the trophy a record 13 times with Madrid two behind on 11. Athletic and Deportivo – the only unbeaten side in the history of the competition (W5, D1) - are the next most-successful side with three titles each, followed by Atlético (2), Valencia, Sevilla, Zaragoza, Mallorca and Real Sociedad (1), with the Basque side winning the first edition of the modern version of the Super Cup in 1982.

Messi untouchable in Spanish Super Cup

As might be expected given Barcelona’s dominance of the competition during the Leo Messi era – eight titles and three runners-up places between 2005 and 2019 – the Argentinean holds most of the Spanish Super Cup scoring records.

In total, Messi bagged 14 times in 20 Super Cup appearances, including in seven finals and eight different editions of the competition overall. Messi is also the only player in history to have scored in four consecutive Spanish Super Cups (2009-12). He also holds the record for the most total appearances having featured in 13 Super Cups (2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020 and 2021).

Second in the all-time list is former Real Madrid striker and current manager of Castilla, Raúl, who scored seven times in 12 Super Cup games, winning the competition on four occasions. Behind Raúl are Hristo Stoichkov, who bagged six for Barcelona, and Txiki Begiristain who represented three different clubs – Real Sociedad, Barcelona and Deportivo – in the competition.

David Villa holds the record for goals-scoring appearances in the competition with different sides, Spain’s all-time top scorer having played in the Super Cup and found the net for Zaragoza (1), Valencia (1), Barcelona (2) and Atlético (1).

Spanish Super Cup all-time scorers list

1: Leo Messi, Barcelona (14)

2: Raúl, Real Madrid (7)

3: Hristo Stoichkov, Barcelona (6 in 10 appearances)

= Txiki Begiristain, Real Sociedad, Barcelona, Deportivo (6 in 12 appearances)

4: Frédéric Kanoute, Sevilla (5)

5: Aritz Aduriz, Athletic (4 in 2 appearances)

= Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid (4 in 7 appearances)

= José Mari Bakero, Real Sociedad, Barcelona (4 in 11 appearances)

= Xavi, Barcelona (4 in 14 appearances)