Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

Latest News

What states and cities increased the minimum wage in July?

Many cities are planning to increase their minimum wages this month. We look at a look at where workers can expect a boost.

Many cities are planning to increase their minimum wages this month. We look at a look at where workers can expect a boost.

Workers across multiple states will see a raise this month as minimum wage increases take effect. Nationally the minimum wage sits at $7.25 per hour, but many states have passed bills to increase their own.

Rather than a one time increase, states often chose to increase the wage over time as to not create economic shocks for businesses. The drawback of this method is that the increase can be offset by inflation by the time the process ends.

Which states are increasing their mininum wage?

Various states are in the middle of increasing their minimum wage and July marks one of these milestones.


On Friday 1 July, workers in Connecticut making $13/hour saw an increase to $14/hour.

Next year on 1 June, minimum wage workers will see their wages increase to $15/hour. This wage still remains lower than the living wage identified by researchers at MIT who estimate that a single person without children would need to make around $19/hour to provide for themselves.


Workers in Nevada will also receive a raise but the amount depends on whether or not they receive their health insurance through their employer. Those who do have employer sponsored insurance, will see their wages increase from $8.75/hour to $9.50/hour. Those that do not, will see a larger boost from $9.75/hour to $10.50/hour.

The minimum wage in the state will cap at $12/hour for those without health insurance and $11/hour for those that do. Each year, the minimum wage will increase by $0.75 until the target is reached.


On Friday 1 July, the minimum wage in Oregon increased from $12.75/hour to $13.50/hour. This is below the hourly wage of $19.51 that was identified as a living wage by researchers.

Which cities are increasing their minimum wage?

California - Cities across the state

The Golden State has passed a bill to increase their minimum wage to $15/hour.

Additionally many cities across the state have passed local regulations that increase the minimum wage. On 1 July, various cities mandated businesses to increase wages.

Which cities are increasing their minimum wage?

The law firm Fisher Phillips has warned business owners in the state to take note of the changes and published a list of the increases on their website: 

  • Alameda: $15.75/hour
  • Berkeley: $16.99/hour
  • Emeryville: $17.68/hour
  • Fremont: $16.00/hour
  • Long Beach: $16.73/hour for hotel workers; $16.55 for concessionaire workers
  • Los Angeles (City): $16.04 for all employers
  • Los Angeles (County, unincorporated): $15.96/hour
  • Malibu: $15.96/hour
  • Milpitas: $16.40/hour
  • Pasadena: $16.11/hour
  • San Francisco (City/County): $16.99/hour
  • Santa Monica: $15.96/hour
  • West Hollywood: $16.50/hour for employers with 50+ employees; $16.00/hour for employers with less than 50 employees; $18.35/hour for hotel workers

Illinois -- Cook County and Chicago

In both Cook County and Chicago, which sits within Cook County, workers will see a raise.

In Cook County, the minimum wage will increase from 12/hour to 13/hour.

However, in Chicago where the cost of living is hire, the lowest wage offered to workers will increase to $15.40 for firms with more than twenty-one workers. Smaller firms will be required to pay their workers at least $14/hour.

Maryland - Montgomery County

Montgomery County, right out ouside of Washington DC will require firms with more than fifty-one employees to pay their workers at least $15.65/hour.

Number of WorkersMinimum Wage
11 to 50$14.50
10 workers or less$14

Minnesota - Minneapolis and St. Paul

In Minneapolis and St. Paul have both passed increases to their minimum wage.

In Minneapolis, the lowest possible hourly wage depends on the size of the business

  • Fewer than 100 employees: up $1/hour from $12.50 to $13.50/hour
  • More than 100 employees: up to $15/hour from $14.25/hour

St. Paul has taken a similar action. For businesses with more than 10,000 employees a $15/hour minimum wage is mandated. For those with anywhere between 101 and 10,000 workers, an hourly wage of $13.50 must be paid.

For even smaller firms:

  • 6 and 100 employees: $12/hour
  • under 5 employees: $10.75