Gaming Club
Sign in

Marvel Studios

This is why Marvel has never won an Oscar for Best Visual Effects

Marvel’s curse in the Best Visual Effects category of the Oscars is like what happened to Star Wars, leaving the MCU without any victories in the Academy

This is why Marvel has never won an Oscar for Best Visual Effects

It is said that Marvel movies are all about visual effects, but strangely enough, the MCU has never managed to get an Oscar award in this category for over a decade. Superhero adaptations already accumulate 13 nominations for their VFX, but none have been proclaimed winners. At least for now. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will celebrate the 95th edition of the Oscars this Sunday, March 12 and Marvel will have a new opportunity in it. Black Panther: Wakanda Forever will try to break the curse, but it won't be easy. They will take on Top Gun: Maverick, All Quiet on the Western Front, The Batman, and Avatar: The Way of Water.

The curse of Marvel and Star Wars at the Oscars

Marvel's situation in this category is reminiscent of what happened with Star Wars. Although back in 1977 Episode IV (A New Hope) won the statuette for Best Visual Effects, the George Lucas saga did not taste the sweetness of success again. And it wasn’t because it wasn’t nominated! The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi, The Rise of Skywalker, Rogue One, and Han Solo: A Star Wars Story were all nominated as well, but despite what many of us would have believed upon leaving the cinema, none seemed worthy enough to come out victorious again. 7 nominations and 1 win.

Marvel Movies Nominated for Best Visual Effects

In any case, the explanation for why Marvel hasn't yet won its Oscar for Best Visual Effects is found in the movies it lost to, often just as good, if not better. Even so, surely you do not agree on any other decision, let's see them all:

  • Iron Man (2009) — The Oscar went to The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.
  • Iron Man 2 (2011) — The Oscar went to Inception, by Christopher Nolan.
  • The Avengers (2013) — The Oscar went to Life of Pi.
  • Iron Man 3 (2014) — The Oscar went to Gravity.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2015) — The Oscar went to Interstellar.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2015) — The Oscar went to Interstellar.
  • Doctor Strange (2017) — The Oscar went to The Jungle Book.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2018) — The Oscar went to Blade Runner 2049.
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2019) — The Oscar went to First Man.
  • Avengers: Endgame (2020) — The Oscar was for 1917.
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2022) — The Oscar went to Dune.
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (2022) — The Oscar went to Dune.
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (2023) — Is the twelfth time the charm?
Full screen

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?