NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

NFL

Dallas Cowboys 2022 NFL preseason round-up: Antonio Brown, penalties, quarterbacks...

The Cowboys are getting ready to bounce back from a loss in their second preseason game this week as players inch closer to regular season form.

Update:
The Cowboys are getting ready to bounce back from a loss in their second preseason game this week as players inch closer to regular season form.
C. Morgan EngelAFP

The Dallas Cowboys have a busy week ahead of them as they ramp up their preparation and take heed of some interesting words with a free agent floating around them.

Antonio Brown wants Jerry Jones to give him a call

The controversial wide receiver is having a strong offseason, but mostly thanks to all the stuff he is saying off the field. Last week he made a post comparing himself to Jesus and The Beatles, but Brown came back to Earth yesterday to ask the Cowboys owner, Jerry Jones, for a job.

Brown hinted his intentions to come back to NFL via a TMZ interview where he talked about Jerry Jones and the Cowboys as a possible landing spot for him after he did not get to finish with the Bucaneers last year. As Luis explains in his article, it would be a big bet for the Cowboys to take a look at such a lockerroom disruptor as AB, but their wide receiver corps are thin after some players left, as Amari Cooper, and other got injured, like Gallup. The Cowboys have the WR1 spot covered with Ceedee Lamb, but Dak would surely appreciate another weapon.

The fight for the QB2 spot continues

The Cowboys have to hope that they do not play another game all season where they have more penalties than points, but the problems do not end there. Even if McCarthy was focused on his team having to execute better, the Cowboys do have to address who will be the main substitute for Dak when real games come. This second preseason game will see the offense be mainly led by the likes of Cooper Rush and Ben DiNucci again, and one of them will need to have a better showing if they want to make sure they are not cut when the rosters shrink.

WR Jalen Tolbert assesses his debut

Rookie wide receiver Jalen Tolbert had some thoughts about his first game as a Cowboy. He had a couple of receptions for 10 total yards in the loss against the Broncos. “I think I won some routes early on and I think that we had our opportunities there. Overall, the outcome didn’t come out what we wanted it to be. But we can go back to work and keep competing against each other and come out next week and improve upon what we just put out there” Tolbert Said.

Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Jalen Tolbert
Full screen
Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Jalen Tolbert Jason ParkhurstUSA TODAY Sports

Getting ready for the Chargers this week

The preseason games keep rolling along and on week 2 the Cowboys will face Brandon Staley’s Chargers. The game will see the Cowboys go to Los Angeles on Saturday 20th, with a starting time of 10pm EDT/9pm CDT/7pm PDT. Dallas then round off their preparations for the new campaign back at AT&T Stadium, where they are scheduled to host the Seattle Seahawks on Friday 26 August at 8pm EDT/7pm CDT/5pm PDT.

They will then be ready to face the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in their NFL week 1 clash on 11 September.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?