Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many times have the Kansas City Chiefs won the Super Bowl?

The Kansas City Chiefs are looking to retain their National Football League title as they face San Francisco 49ers on Sunday in Las Vegas.

The Kansas City Chiefs are looking to retain their National Football League title as they face San Francisco 49ers on Sunday in Las Vegas.

The KC Chiefs were founded in 1960 originally as the Dallas Texans, but in spring 1963 they relocated to Kansas City and took on their current name. Before joining the NFL in 1970, the Chiefs won three AFL championships in 1962, 1966, and 1969. The 1969 victory was also the last AFL–NFL World Championship Game, when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings before the league merger went into full effect.

Super Bowl I

In their 64-year history, the Chiefs have played in five Super Bowl games, winning on three occasions. In their first AFL-NFL championship game in 1967, also known as Super Bowl I, they were beaten by the Green Bay Packers, who took control in the final two quarters to win by a score of 35–10.

Super Bowl IV

Despite losing to the Oakland Raiders twice in the regular season in 1969, the two teams met for the third time in the AFL Championship Game, where Kansas City won 17–7. In the AFL–NFL World Championship Game that followed, the Chiefs went up against NFL champion Minnesota Vikings.

The Chiefs dominated the game 23–7 to claim the team’s first Super Bowl championship. Quarterback Len Dawson was named the game’s Most Valuable Player after completing 12-of-17 passes for 142 yards and one touchdown, with one interception. With this win, the Chiefs became the second AFL team (after the New York Jets) to defeat an NFL team in an AFL–NFL World Championship Game.

Super Bowl LIV

The Chiefs completed the 2019 regular season with a 12–4 record, winning the AFC West division title for the fourth straight year, and secured the AFC’s second seed behind the Baltimore Ravens. The Chiefs then defeated the Titans 35–24 to advance to Super Bowl LIV. This marked their first Super Bowl appearance in 50 years.

In the championship game, the Chiefs played against the NFC’s top seed, the San Francisco 49ers. Although the 49ers led 20-10 with under 12 minutes remaining in the game, the Chiefs scored touchdowns on their next two possessions, with Patrick Mahomes throwing touchdown passes to Travis Kelce and Damien Williams. With a 24–20 lead and under two minutes remaining, Williams had a 38-yard touchdown run to seal the Chiefs’ win. This marked the first time in NFL postseason history that a team faced a ten-point deficit in three straight games and won by double-digit margins. Mahomes won the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player Award, ending the Chiefs’ Super Bowl drought dating back to the AFL-NFL Merger.

Super Bowl LV

In 2021, the Chiefs clinched their fifth consecutive division title, winning against the Miami Dolphins in week 14. They defeated the Cleveland Browns and Buffalo Bills in the playoffs to win the AFC Championship for the second consecutive year.

The Chiefs played the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Super Bowl LV at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, ultimately losing 9–31 and failing to score a touchdown.

People take pictures of a Kansas City Chief mannequin
Full screen
People take pictures of a Kansas City Chief mannequin JOHN G. MABANGLOEFE

Super Bowl LVII

Chiefs kicker Harrison Butker completed a 27-yard field goal with 11 seconds left in the game to give the team the victory over the Philadelphia Eagles. Super Bowl Quarterback Patrick Mahomes led the Chiefs to their third Super Bowl championship.

The Chiefs are looking to draw level with the Giants and Packers on four Super Bowl titles a-piece as they face San Francisco 49ers this Sunday in Las Vegas.