Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which NFL Wild Card qualifying teams have won the Super Bowl?

Wild Card teams are the ultimate underdogs as the NFL playoffs get underway, but more than once they managed to win the Super Bowl.

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN - JANUARY 07: Jordan Love #10 of the Green Bay Packers celebrates with Tucker Kraft #85 of the Green Bay Packers after the game against the Chicago Bears at Lambeau Field on January 07, 2024 in Green Bay, Wisconsin.   Patrick McDermott/Getty Images/AFP (Photo by Patrick McDermott / GETTY IMAGES NORTH AMERICA / Getty Images via AFP)

It doesn’t happen very often, but history shows that it can be done. Wild card teams have indeed gone on to win the Lombardi Trophy, although there are not many who have pulled off football’s toughest feat.

The last franchise that won the Super Bowl via the wild card route was the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2021. They advanced to the playoffs with an 11-5 record, and earned the No. 5 seed.

They had to plow their way through Washington, New Orleans, and Green Bay to reach the Super Bowl, where the Bucs proceeded to crush the Kansas City Chiefs in front of a hometown crowd at Raymond James Stadium.


Which NFL wild card teams have won the Super Bowl?

Since the introduction of the wild card system in 1970, only seven teams have managed to climb their way to the highest peak in the NFL.

The first team to notch this accomplishment were the Oakland Raiders in 1980, when they defeated the Philadelphia Eagles 27-10 at Louisiana Super Dome in New Orleans.

The next time a wild card team became champion was almost two decades later in 1997, when the Denver Broncos prevailed over the Green Bay Packers 31-24 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California.

Only three years after that, the Baltimore Ravens trounced the New York Giants with a score of 34-7 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Florida. The blowout score is tied at number seven in NFL history for biggest margin in the Super Bowl.

Here is a complete list of wild card teams that became Super Bowl champions.

1980Oakland RaidersNo. 4Philadelphia Eagles27-10
1997Denver BroncosNo. 4Green Bay Packers31-24
2000Baltimore RavensNo. 4New York Giants34-7
2005Pittsburgh SteelersNo. 6Seattle Seahawks21-10
2007New York GiantsNo. 5New England Patriots17-14
2010Green Bay PackersNo. 6Pittsburgh Steelers31-25
2020Tampa Bay BuccaneersNo. 5Kansas City Chiefs31-9

Additionally, there have been four Wild Cards who made it to the big show, falling at the final hurdle.

  • 1975–76: Dallas Cowboys-Super Bowl X
  • 1985–86: New England Patriots–Super Bowl XX
  • 1992–93: Buffalo Bills–Super Bowl XXVII
  • 1999–2000: Tennessee Titans–Super Bowl XXXIV